BookBrowse Reviews The Cry of The Icemark by Stuart Hill

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Cry of The Icemark

by Stuart Hill

The Cry of The Icemark by Stuart Hill X
The Cry of The Icemark by Stuart Hill
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Action/Adventure for Children Aged 12+

What a great book! We read The Cry of the Icemark to our children (then 9 and 11) at our "morning reading parties" (half an hour before the start of the school day) and I can attest to the fact that there's nothing better for getting the day off to a good start than following Thirrin into battle!

The Icemark is a cold, northern country inhabited by a tough people, ruled by King Redrought Strong-in-the-Arm Lindenshield, Bear of the North - a formidable enemy, wily leader and doting father, who likes nothing better than a nice comfy pair of slippers and a bowl of warm water in which to soak his corns after a hard day chasing down enemies of the kingdom.

Sadly, but inevitably, he dies within the first hundred pages, leaving Thirrin to rule the country and build alliances with fantastic folk, such as werewolves and vampires, in order to defend her land and people against the invading armies of the Polypontus Empire, who bear more than a passing resemblance to the Roman Empire but in the era of flintlock and cannon.

Hill borrows happily from multiple mythologies and tells a rip roaring, swift moving story that should appeal to any boy or girl who enjoys action adventures (the jacket of the USA hardcover looked a little too much like a Tamora Pierce novel to be of immediate appeal to boys, but for the paperback the publishers have used the more gender neutral cover from the UK).

Selected Reviews:
"For readers whose imaginations are stirred by clashes of pike and saber and lusty cries of "Blood! Blast! And Fire!" this extravagant first novel--especially its more swiftly paced latter half--offers ample rewards." - Booklist.

This review is from the June 15, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.