BookBrowse Reviews The Adventure of English by Melvyn Bragg

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Adventure of English

The Biography of a Language

by Melvyn Bragg

The Adventure of English by Melvyn Bragg
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2004, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2006, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A landmark, and very readable, history of the English language

From the book jacket: A landmark history of the English language detailing how and where it began 1,500 years ago and how it evolved to become the tongue of some two billion people worldwide.

Comment: Everyone knows the British love rooting for the underdog; so as a Brit by birth I found myself wanting to shout 'Go English' when, in the opening chapters, I read about the fledgling English language doing metaphorical battle with the languages of the plentiful invaders to the British Isles.  Then later, turning the tables to go out into the world and spread far and wide, absorbing parts of each language it encountered. It's quite a gripping story - just as one thinks English is going to be finally squashed by an invading language, up it bounces as right as rain, not just having survived, but having grown by absorbing the invader (like a linguistic version of the movie Aliens).   

As Melvyn Bragg (a prolific British novelist and broadcast journalist) so eloquently shows, the English language is unsurpassed in its ability to repair and reinvent itself.  For example, I've always wondered why the bovine in the field is called a cow, but when it's served up on a plate it becomes beef.  Now I know that it's because cow, sheep, deer and pig are from Old English and would have been the words used by the peasants at the time the Normans invaded in 1066; whereas the French speaking Normans referred to boeuf, mouton, venaison and porc - and, while the French feasted on the animals at the table, their English serfs labored to look after the beasts in the fields.  Thus the Old English words for the living animals were retained, but the English language absorbed different words to describe the same animals when served up for dinner - beef, mutton, venison and pork. 

Another example is when, sometime earlier, Old English met Old Norse (with the Viking invasions) and words such as the Old English 'craft' met the Old Norse 'skill', and English absorbed both, imbuing each with its own subtle differences.

After a whistle-stop tour through the early years of English, Bragg then traces its journey across the globe, following it to America, India, Australia, and elsewhere, with several chapters on American English and how it has been transformed by a diverse range of influences.  He ends by looking ahead, to consider how English will be reshaped again by the vast numbers of people who speak English as a second language.  

Many readers may have read Robert McCrum's earlier book, The Story of English, and might be wondering if The Adventure of English adds anything new.  This is how Library Journal compares the two: The Adventure of English is 'well researched yet more accessible to a wide audience than scholarly treatments by linguists or historians (e.g., Robert McCrum's Story of English and Albert C. Baugh's History of the English Language), this volume takes a novel sociological approach, focusing less on the grammar's development than on how the language developed via people and events.'

All in all, an exceptionally enjoyable read; if you enjoy this sort of book, you should also take a look at The Meaning of Everything: The Story of the Oxford English Dictionary.

This review is from the September 20, 2006 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.



This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...
  • Book Jacket
    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.