Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

BookBrowse Reviews An Unfinished Life by Mark Spragg

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

An Unfinished Life

by Mark Spragg

An Unfinished Life by Mark Spragg X
An Unfinished Life by Mark Spragg
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2004, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2005, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Immediately compelling and constantly surprising. Novel

From the book jacket: Set in the high-country of Wyoming, this is a riveting tale of hard-won friendship, old wounds, fresh pain and love lost and found.

Comment: An Unfinished Life is somewhat similar in style to Kent Haruf's Plainsong - but grittier.  Jean Gilkyson hasn't been home to Wyoming for ten years, since her husband died in a car accident;  she was driving and her father-in-law, Einar, has never forgiven her.  However, now she's out of money and options. Leaving her abusive boyfriend, Roy, she and her nine-year-old daughter, Griff, escape to the only place left to them, her father-in-law's house in Ishawooa, Wyoming, where Griff meets the grandfather she didn't know she had, and Jean's father-in-law meets the granddaughter he didn't know he had. The story is told from five different viewpoints: Griff, Einar, Jean, Roy, and Einar's old war buddy and best friend, Mitch, who is pivotal in breaking down the barriers between the generations, allowing the shoots of forgiveness a chance to grow. 

The voice of the abusive boyfriend, Roy, is particularly convincing.  In the interview that you can read at BookBrowse, Spragg says that the most difficult part of the book was to convey Roy's voice accurately, particularly 'his sense of being misunderstood, his burning righteousness and his sentimentality of violence'. 

'An old rancher reluctantly takes in his daughter-in-law and granddaughter in this moving and well-crafted, if rather derivative, second novel by Spragg (The Fruit of Stone).' - PW.
'Each word counts for more than it says in this achingly beautiful story of courage and endurance.' - Booklist.

This review first ran in the August 17, 2005 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked An Unfinished Life, try these:

  • The Farmer's Daughter jacket

    The Farmer's Daughter

    by Jim Harrison

    Published 2010

    About this book

    More by this author

    The Farmer’s Daughter is a memorable portrait of three decidedly unconventional American lives. With wit, poignancy, and an unbounded love for his characters, Jim Harrison has again reminded us why he is one of the most cherished and important authors at work today.

  • If I Am Missing or Dead jacket

    If I Am Missing or Dead

    by Janine Latus

    Published 2008

    About this book

    In April 2002, Janine Latus's youngest sister, Amy, wrote a note and taped it to the inside of her desk drawer. Today Ron Ball and I are romantically involved, it read, but I fear I have placed myself at risk in a variety of ways. Based on his criminal past, writing this out just seems like the smart thing to do. If I am missing or dead this ...

We have 6 read-alikes for An Unfinished Life, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Mark Spragg
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.