The BookBrowse Review

Published January 22, 2020

ISSN: 1930-0018

printable version
This is a free edition of our twice-monthly magazine, The BookBrowse Review,
which is just one of the benefits of membership for the equivalent of just $3.25 a month.
Join | Renew | Library Subscriptions | Gift Memberships
Back    Next

Contents

In This Edition of
The BookBrowse Review

Highlighting indicates debut books

Editor's Introduction
Reviews
Hardcovers Paperbacks
First Impressions
Latest Author Interviews
Recommended for Book Clubs
Book Discussions

Discussions are open to all members to read and post. Click to view the books currently being discussed.

Publishing Soon

Novels


Historical Fiction


Short Stories/Essays


Poetry


Mysteries


Thrillers


Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Speculative, Alt. History


Biography/Memoir


History, Science & Current Affairs


Young Adults

Novels


Thrillers


Extras
Book Jacket

Behind Every Lie
by Christina McDonald
4 Feb 2020
336 pages
Publisher: Gallery Books
ISBN-13: 9781501184031
Genre: Thrillers
Critics:
mail to a friend   

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Night Olivia Fell - an "emotionally charged mystery" (Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author) - comes a thrilling new suspense novel about the insidious nature of family secrets…and their deadly potential.

If you can't remember it, how do you prove you didn't do it?

Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can't remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.

Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat's former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother's carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn't want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn't know who to trust. Least of all herself.

Told in alternating perspectives from Eva's search for answers and Kat's mysterious past, Christina McDonald has crafted another "complex, emotionally intense" (Publishers Weekly) domestic thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell's I Found You and Karin Slaughter's Pieces of Her, Behind Every Lie explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets.

"McDonald weaves together Eva and Kat's narratives, which span past and present, to create a compulsively readable and fast-paced yarn that explores the lingering effects of trauma and abuse as well as the complex bonds between mothers and daughters. Readers who enjoy character-driven thrillers will be pleased." - Publishers Weekly

"Told in alternating narratives from Eva's traumatic life and her mother's mysterious past, the story twists and turns with one shocking revelation after another until it threatens to careen out of control. But behind every lie there is always a reason, and there is a satisfying ending once everyone's hand is played out." - Booklist

"Behind Every Lie is a deep, suspenseful novel packed with family secrets. Christina McDonald has a true gift for creating characters that are so well-developed, it feels like you know them. An outstanding achievement!" - Samantha Downing, author of the #1 International Bestseller My Lovely Wife

"In Behind Every Lie, a lightning strike survivor discovers that memories are fallible, identities are fungible, and she can't trust anyone—including herself. With nuanced and dubiously trustworthy characters, dual timelines revealing decades of secrets, and a tension-packed plot, Christina McDonald has crafted an engrossing and utterly addictive thriller. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough!" - Kathleen Barber, author of Truth Be Told

"Addictive and emotionally resonant, Behind Every Lie is a twisty, fast-paced thriller with secrets nestled inside secrets. Nothing is as it seems in this story exploring the sorrow and strength of brokenness, and with complex characters and a relentlessly compelling plot, you'll be unable to stop reading it—or forget it once you do." - Megan Collins, author of The Winter Sister

Christina McDonald is the USA Today bestselling author of The Night Olivia Fell, which has been optioned for television by a major Hollywood studio. Her writing has been featured in the Sunday Times (London), Dublin, USA Today, and Expedia. Originally from Seattle, Washington, she has an MA in Journalism from the National University of Ireland Galway, and now lives in London, England with her husband, two sons, and their dog, Tango.

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.