The BookBrowse Review

Published May 15, 2019

ISSN: 1930-0018

printable version
This is a free edition of our twice-monthly magazine, The BookBrowse Review,
which is just one of the benefits of membership for just $3.25 a month!
Join Today | Renew | BookBrowse for Libraries | Give a Gift Membership
Back   

Contents

In This Edition of
The BookBrowse Review

Highlighting indicates debut books

Editor's Introduction
Reviews
Hardcovers Paperbacks
First Impressions
Latest Author Interviews
Recommended for Book Clubs
Book Discussions

Discussions are open to all members to read and post. Click to view the books currently being discussed.

Publishing Soon

Novels


Historical Fiction


Thrillers


Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Speculative, Alt. History


Biography/Memoir


History, Science & Current Affairs


Young Adults

Novels


Extras
  • Blog:
    The Caribbean: A Reading List for Book Clubs and Bookworms
  • Wordplay:
    I I T S Form O F
  • Book Giveaway:
    My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

The Caribbean: A Reading List for Book Clubs and Bookworms

Posted: May 03, 2019 07:08 AM

Choosing only a handful of books to read about the Caribbean is like holding a small mound of snow in your palms. You know each snowflake is unique and you also know that you've only touched a fraction of what is falling from the sky. And while you may be hard pressed to find snow on any part of the Caribbean, you can easily discover countless stories about these 7,000 islands, and all of them are different. Still, just as it is magical to hold those few snowflakes, it is also magical to read any of the half dozen books we've culled together here.

more...

I I T S Form O F

Decipher this well-known saying and you could win the book of your choice.

For example 'K The B' = kick the bucket.

Wordplays are open to BookBrowse visitors worldwide (visitors outside the USA win a 6-month membership to BookBrowse).

In each contest one winner will be selected at random from the correct entries. The winner will be notified by email shortly after the draw closes.

This Wordplay will end on May 27, 2019.

This wordplay ended on 05/27/2019

Past Wordplays |  Past Winners |  Rules


Answer to the last Wordplay:


Question: Half A L I B T N

Answer: Half a loaf is better than none

Meaning: It's better to have something, than nothing at all.

Source:
This expression is first recorded in John Heywood's 1546 book of proverbs:
Throwe no gyft agayne at the giuers head, For better is halfe a lofe then no bread.

John Heywood (c. 1497 – c. 1580) was a 16th century English dramatist employed as a singer, musician and playwright at the court of Henry VIII, and, later, at the court of Henry's daughter, Queen Mary. When the Protestant Elizabeth I succeeded to the throne in 1564, Heywood (a Roman Catholic) fled to Belgium where he stayed for the rest of his life. He is considered important to the development of English comedy, and is also remembered for his epigrams, proverbs and ballads.

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...
A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.
Miracle Creek
by Angie Kim
Paperback: Apr 2020
mail to a friend

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families - and our deepest secrets.

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first ...

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine - a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night - trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges - as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

This giveaway closed on June 3, 2019.

Rules |  Past Winners |  Enter Now

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.