MLA Platinum Award Press Release

The Loves of President and Mrs. Roosevelt: Background information when reading White Houses

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

White Houses

by Amy Bloom

White Houses by Amy Bloom X
White Houses by Amy Bloom
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2018, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2018, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Loves of President and Mrs. Roosevelt

This article relates to White Houses

Print Review

Eleanor Roosevelt had long been a key figure in her husband, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's, political career. When he became President, she transformed the role of the First Lady. She was a vocal and vociferous advocate for human rights and in particular, the rights of women and children. She wrote a popular newspaper column "My Day," and was active in helping the poor and fighting racial discrimination. After her husband's death, President Truman appointed Eleanor Roosevelt to the United Nations. She was given further appointments by President John F. Kennedy, serving her country faithfully until her death in 1962.

But in the partnership of two exceptional public servants there were significant difficulties. In 1914, FDR embarked on an affair with his wife's social secretary, Lucy Mercer. When Eleanor found love letters between the two in 1918, the Roosevelts nearly divorced. FDR broke up with Lucy Mercer—although evidence exists that suggests the ties between them were never truly severed and Lucy was at his side when he died in April 1945.

Eleanor and Hick In White Houses, Amy Bloom suggests that FDR also had a long-standing love affair with his secretary Missy LeHand with whom he worked extremely closely. Evidence for this seems to rest with the Roosevelt's son, Elliott, who described the relationship in his 1973 book, An Untold Story, The Roosevelts of Hyde Park. Whatever the truth of it, FDR's personal life has long been a subject of speculation, inspiring the movie, Hyde Park on Hudson (2012) starring Bill Murray and Laura Linney.

For readers of White Houses, however, the central Roosevelt love affair, is Eleanor's. After discovering her husband's affair with Lucy Mercer, Eleanor is believed to have agreed to remain married but insisted on separate bedrooms. During Roosevelt's first presidential campaign, Eleanor met Lorena Hickok, an Associated Press reporter and they became close friends with Hick even moving into the White House.

Over the years, the two maintained a very intimate, loving and presumably sexual relationship. Readers who want to know more about the factual history behind the story in White Houses can find several non-fiction titles, including, most recently, Susan Quinn's Eleanor and Hick: The Love Affair that Shaped a First Lady (Penguin, 2016).

Filed under People, Eras & Events

Article by Kate Braithwaite

This "beyond the book article" relates to White Houses. It originally ran in March 2018 and has been updated for the October 2018 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for a year or $39 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Orange World and Other Stories
    by Karen Russell
    Karen Russell has a tremendous gift for crafting uncanny, through-the-looking glass worlds that are ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book of Longings
    The Book of Longings
    by Sue Monk Kidd
    The Book of Longings by Sue Monk Kidd follows the life of Ana, a woman born in the Galilean city of ...
  • Book Jacket: Master Class
    Master Class
    by Christina Dalcher
    Christina Dalcher's Master Class shows America sleepwalking into a perfectionist eventuality not ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Pronounce Knife
    How to Pronounce Knife
    by Souvankham Thammavongsa
    Many examples of immigrant fiction dedicate a portion of their storytelling to exploring details of ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughter of the Reich
    by Louise Fein

    A spellbinding story of impossible love set against the backdrop of the Nazi regime.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Prisoner's Wife
    by Maggie Brookes

    Inspired by the true story of a courageous young woman who enters a Nazi POW camp to be with the man she loves.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Paris Hours
by Alex George

One day in the City of Light. One night in search of lost time.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The House on Fripp Island

The House on Fripp Island
by Rebecca Kauffman

A taut, page-turning novel of secrets and strife.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

B I T T Water

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.