MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Top of the Pops: Background information when reading Utopia Avenue

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Utopia Avenue

by David Mitchell

Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell X
Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Jul 2020, 592 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Top of the Pops

This article relates to Utopia Avenue

Print Review

Top of the Pops LP, 1975 David Mitchell's novel Utopia Avenue centers around a fictional British pop band in the turbulent years of 1967 and 1968. Acts popular in both the United States and Britain included the likes of the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, the Doors, the Jimi Hendrix Experience, the Who, the Supremes, the Byrds, the Kinks, Aretha Franklin… and the list goes on. Many of these stars (as well as the fictional Utopia Avenue) appeared on a BBC TV show called Top of the Pops.

Top of the Pops was the brainchild of its first producer, Johnnie Stewart, who modeled the show after a program airing on Radio Luxembourg called The Teen and Twenty Disc Club. Premiering on New Year's Day in 1964, the weekly show was televised live from the BBC's studio in Manchester (and later, London). The host (the job rotated between presenters) would count down the week's "Top 20" pop songs, some of which were performed over the course of the show by the recording artists in front of a studio audience. The first show featured the Rolling Stones with "I Wanna Be Your Man," Dusty Springfield with "I Only Want to Be with You" and the Beatles with "I Want to Hold Your Hand," among other acts.

At the time, music studios made a large chunk of their revenue through sales of 45 RPM records. These small disks had just two songs etched into them: An "A Side," which would be the song the record labels hoped would be a big hit, and a "B Side," which would generally be another song from the same album. Artists were under tremendous pressure to crank out new songs. Since selling a 45 depended on generating an audience for a specific tune, it didn't take labels long to figure out that having their acts appear on Top of the Pops could rocket a song up the charts. The show was consequently able to consistently book appearances by some of the most famous bands on the planet.

Stewart had some very specific rules about how the show was structured, one of which was that the best-selling song of the week always ended the show. No song, other than the number one hit, could be highlighted two weeks in a row, and only songs going up the charts were performed (never those headed down). Also showcased was the new song that made the highest debut, as well as the one that rose the most slots during the week (unless it had been featured the previous week).

During much of its history, musicians weren't permitted to actually play or sing during their appearances on Top of the Pops; instead they mimed. In 1966, the Musician's Union banned the practice in an effort to protect employment for musicians. But it quickly became apparent that many musicians weren't all that good at performing their songs live in a small setting. So, a compromise was reached; a studio band would lay down a new track behind the recorded vocals, and some instrumental music was played live by the show's in-house orchestra while the actual artists lip-synced and pretended to play their instruments. Many performers abhorred this arrangement, and the show's history is rife with both missteps (e.g., the recorded version starting when the band was still getting ready to "perform") and deliberate sabotage (exceptionally poor lip-syncing, messing about with the instruments, or — in Rod Stewart's case — kicking around a football instead of miming the performance).

Originally, the studio audience danced to the featured songs, but later on professional dance troupes were enlisted. The Gojos premiered in November 1964, wearing white knee-high boots and miniskirts, but were replaced by the even more skimpily-clad Pan's People in 1968. This six-woman group was immensely popular, and became an iconic part of the show for eight years. Next came co-ed group Ruby Flipper, which only lasted a few months before being ousted in favor of a second group of six women – Legs & Co – followed a few years later by Zoo, another mixed-gender act. In 1983, Top of the Pops reverted to the original concept whereby the audience did most of the dancing, although they employed "cheerleaders" to help with the effort.

Top of the Pops was originally slated for just six episodes, but it ended up being the world's longest-running musical TV show, ending its 42-year run in 2006. It became a significant part of British culture, and at its peak in the 1970s attracted over 15 million viewers each week. It continues on as Top of the Pops 2, a weekly spin-off that first aired in 1994 and features performances from the TOTP archives. Some content potentially offensive to modern sensibilities is cut, and programs featuring disgraced host DJs Jimmy Savile and Dave Lee Travis are no longer aired (Savile was at the center of a massive sex abuse scandal and Travis was convicted of indecent assault).

Filed under Music and the Arts

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article relates to Utopia Avenue. It first ran in the July 15, 2020 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hamnet
    Hamnet
    by Maggie O'Farrell
    William Shakespeare's name is never used in Hamnet — a conspicuous absence around which Maggie...
  • Book Jacket: After the Last Border
    After the Last Border
    by Jessica Goudeau
    According to the United Nations Refugee Agency, the number of displaced people around the world is ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Alex Landragin
    Crossings is a beautiful, if slightly messy, time-bending debut. It reads like a vampire novel, sans...
  • Book Jacket: Pew
    Pew
    by Catherine Lacey
    A quote often attributed to Leo Tolstoy states that "All great literature is one of two stories; a ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Hieroglyphics
    by Jill McCorkle

    A mesmerizing novel about piecing together the hieroglyphics of history and memory.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

The the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose fight is boundless.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Every Bone a Prayer

Every Bone a Prayer by Ashley Blooms

A beautifully honest exploration of healing and of hope.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Real M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.