Tree Law in the United States: Background information when reading A Good Neighborhood

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Good Neighborhood

by Therese Anne Fowler

A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler X
A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2020, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2021, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Tree Law in the United States

This article relates to A Good Neighborhood

Print Review

Neighborhood with Trees from Above In Therese Anne Fowler's A Good Neighborhood, a lawsuit over a tree precipitates a series of tragic events. It is not uncommon for a tree to be the basis of a dispute between neighbors. Fallen trees or branches often affect neighbors, but remain the responsibility of the person whose property contains the tree's trunk. If the trunk is on the line between two properties, though, it is considered a "boundary tree" and both parties share responsibility for it.

Tree law, which in the U.S. is set at the state or local level, addresses questions such as how many trees someone can plant, what regulations there are on the cutting down of trees, whether a tree is actually on government-owned land and so on. Other issues that might be brought to court are tree roots encroaching on someone else's land, a fallen branch causing personal injury or damage to property such as a car, cutting down someone else's tree without permission or the growth of a tree leading to the loss of a desirable view.

Although U.S. tree laws vary from state to state and often result from "case law" (the precedents set by previous legal suits), many of the basics were adopted wholesale from English common law. This includes the understanding that someone can cut any branches overhanging from a neighbor's tree up to their own boundary line—though more recent cases have stipulated that care should be taken not to damage the tree. If harm is caused to a neighbor's tree, even inadvertently, three times its replacement value may be required in compensation.

At the same time, tree owners are responsible for ensuring that their own trees are safe. If a well-maintained tree's branch falls, it is considered an act of God. However, if a potentially dangerous tree has not been dealt with appropriately, the landowner can be prosecuted if their tree falls and causes injury or damage. This is especially important in urban areas. If a neighbor reports a dangerous tree, the landowner can be forced to remove it. Sometimes utility companies will undertake removal if a tree looks likely to fall on their equipment.

What makes tree law especially complicated in the U.S. is that it can fall into various sections of a state code. For example, California's tree laws come under six different sections of the civil code. In addition, a charge of trespassing to inflict damage on a neighbor's tree could come under three sections of California's penal code.

Barri Bonapart, a California tree lawyer interviewed by online magazine Atlas Obscura, astutely noted that "It's never about the trees. The trees often serve as lightning rods for other issues that are the psychological underpinning of a dispute that people might have with each other." That is certainly true in A Good Neighborhood, where the oak tree in question is a symbol of respect for other people's differences and for the environment as much as it is a literal object being fought over by neighbors.

Filed under Society and Politics

Article by Rebecca Foster

This "beyond the book article" relates to A Good Neighborhood. It originally ran in February 2020 and has been updated for the March 2021 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.