Young Adult Epistolary Novels: Background information when reading We Contain Multitudes

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

We Contain Multitudes

by Sarah Henstra

We Contain Multitudes by Sarah Henstra X
We Contain Multitudes by Sarah Henstra
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2019, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2020, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Young Adult Epistolary Novels

This article relates to We Contain Multitudes

Print Review

letter

Epistolary novels have a long tradition in literature, and even young adult novels like Sarah Henstra's We Contain Multitudes have gotten in on the act. Given their younger audiences, however, authors writing for teens often incorporate new technologies or other clever twists on the epistolary form. Check out a few of these examples of YA novels written in letter form!

ttyl by Lauren Myracle
Lauren Myracle kicked off her Internet Girls series with this groundbreaking 2004 novel written entirely in the style of online instant messages. This form of communication (with its numerous acronyms and shortcuts) might seem dated these days, thanks to autocomplete and other improvements in online communication, but Myracle's novel (and its sequels ttfn and l8r, g8r) still draw a lot of attention—they are consistently on lists of most-banned books.

Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando
This novel about two young women, Elizabeth and Lauren, who have been assigned to share a first-year dorm room in college finds them creating a friendship through emails they exchange during the summer after high school graduation. Each of the two novelists adopted a persona to write letters to the other, resulting in clearly differentiated, memorable voices.

From Twinkle, with Love by Sandhya Menon
Several YA epistolary novels are about teens writing letters not to a teen, but rather to a mentor, idol, or other inspirational figure. That's the premise of this enjoyable romance novel about an Indian-American girl, Twinkle, who wants to direct films; she narrates her own story through letters she writes to the female filmmakers (like Mira Nair and Sofia Coppola) whom she admires.

Dear Martin by Nic Stone
Like Twinkle in Menon's novel, the narrator in Nic Stone's novel makes sense of his world by writing hypothetical letters to someone he admires—in this case, Martin Luther King, Jr. Justyce is the only black boy at his boarding school, and writing to King helps him make sense of his identity and about race more generally.

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler
This award-winning novel starts with the delivery of a box to an ex-boyfriend, and then takes the form of a long letter to him, outlining each of the objects in the box's significance and explaining its role in the couple's romance and its demise. Illustrations by artist Maira Kalman help enliven this novel that's both funny and heartrending.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
This YA classic (also a film by the same name) about a misfit narrator who recounts his first year of high school and his troubles at home to an unnamed "Friend," really illustrates the power of the epistolary novel to cast light on its protagonist's interior life.

Letter, courtesy of Pixabay

Filed under Reading Lists

Article by Norah Piehl

This "beyond the book article" relates to We Contain Multitudes. It originally ran in July 2019 and has been updated for the May 2020 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.