Anthony Horowitz: Creating Across Medias: Background information when reading The Word Is Murder

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Word Is Murder

by Anthony Horowitz

The Word Is Murder by Anthony Horowitz X
The Word Is Murder by Anthony Horowitz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2018, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2019, 432 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Meara Conner
Buy This Book

About this Book

Anthony Horowitz: Creating Across Medias

This article relates to The Word Is Murder

Print Review

Anthony Horowitz has had a prolific career writing across multiple media including books, TV, film and stage plays. Since publishing his first novel in 1979, he has written over forty books for both adults and children, his screen credits include episodes of six TV series including Poirot and Midsomer Murders and creator and writer for six more including Foyle's War. His play, Mindgame, based on his book of the same name, opened in London's West End in 2000 and has also been performed Off-Broadway. If you're interested in more Horowitz, here are some of my favorites:

Eagle StrikeThe Alex Rider series
Initially published in 2000 with the first novel, Stormbreaker, Horowitz's most well-known work is undoubtedly his children's series, Alex Rider. The books follow the adventures of 14-year-old Alex as he is recruited into MI-6 to complete his now-deceased uncle's spy mission. The series comprises 11 novels, and is largely credited with rocketing Horowitz to fame. The first book was adapted into a 2006 motion picture.

Foyle's WarFoyle's War
This 2002 historical series details the investigations of Chief Superintendent Christopher Foyle, a British widower who solves crimes primarily revolving around the series backdrop of World War II. This was the first television series entirely created by Horowitz, making its success all the more impressive. It ran for eight seasons before ending in 2015, cementing him as one of today's premiere screenwriters.

The House of SilkThe House of Silk
The first Sherlock Holmes novel to have been written with the endorsement of the Conan Doyle estate, Horowitz's 2011 novel follows the famous detective and his trusty partner, Watson, as they are approached by Edmund Carstairs, a fine art dealer who is being threatened by an unknown man in a flat-cap. The case escalates, first with robbery, and then with murder. Horowitz's passion for the classic detective story is evident in this text and makes clear why he was chosen to take up the Sherlock Holmes mantle.

InjusticeInjustice
Horowitz's 2011 mini-series follows dual plot-line murder investigations; the first of a London secretary, whose accused killer, Martin Newall is being defended by Will Travers, and the second of John Jarrold, a reclusive farm worker, being investigated by D.I. Wenborn. Horowitz gives several morally gray characters center stage; there are no "right" answers in this one. This complicated series handles its plotlines with ease as it asks the question: What really defines justice?

Magpie MurderMagpie Murders
Horowitz's first adult, stand-alone mystery novel was published in 2016. It follows Susan Ryland, an editor who has recently received the latest manuscript from Alan Conway, author of detective novels starring Atticus Pund. However, as Susan reads on, she begins to suspect that there might be something more sinister hiding between the lines. Magpie Murders was a New York Times bestseller and established Horowitz fully in the mystery genre.

Article by Meara Conner

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Word Is Murder. It originally ran in June 2018 and has been updated for the May 2019 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.