MLA Platinum Award Press Release

A Second Career as a Private Investigator: Background information when reading Down the River unto the Sea

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Down the River unto the Sea

by Walter Mosley

Down the River unto the Sea by Walter Mosley X
Down the River unto the Sea by Walter Mosley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2018, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2019, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

A Second Career as a Private Investigator

This article relates to Down the River unto the Sea

Print Review

Private InvestigatorIn Walter Mosley's crime novel, Down the River Unto the Sea, the protagonist, Joe King Oliver, is a former NYC police detective who starts his own private investigative agency as a follow up career. In real life this choice is not uncommon.

Due to the generally early retirement opportunities within most public law enforcement departments, many police officers can retire as much as twenty years younger than civilians in the private sector. At such a relatively young age many, if not most, will pick up a second career. Options are varied for people with law enforcement training and experience, including but not limited to work as security guards, insurance investigators, armed guards, paramilitary or private detectives either under the umbrella of a large agency or opening one's own agency.

PoliceThere is a lot to consider while looking at the options. Former police officers may want to think about what their strengths were. Did they enjoy one aspect of their job over another, such as surveillance or interviewing suspects or crime scene investigation? Did they like coming in contact with crime victims or prefer to pick up the hunt from clues otherwise obtained? Additionally, they may want to think long and hard about the fact that private detective work runs the gamut from criminal to civil to domestic investigation.

There are several benefits to going into private investigation as a former police detective, such as familiarity with local laws, friends and connections within local law enforcement, and an understanding of the legal process. Police also have knowledge of good detective techniques and investigation procedures, and access to resources non-professionals may not know about and firearms training/experience.

But there are also challenges. Chief among them is engaging clients. As a police officer, cases present themselves. No need to sell oneself or one's skills. Sometimes connections within public law enforcement agencies can offer referrals to the private investigator. But not always. Secondly, since private investigators don't receive a regular paycheck, just surviving between paying clients can be difficult. It is advisable to have a steady base income or else go to work for a large investigative agency that pays a salary.

In all, private investigation can be a fine second career choice for former or retired police detectives, but it comes with a caveat concerning the reality of obtaining enough paying clients to sustain life and limb.

Private Investigator image, courtesy of www.privateinvestigatorlicense.org

Article by Donna Chavez

This "beyond the book article" relates to Down the River unto the Sea. It originally ran in February 2018 and has been updated for the February 2019 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.