Tell it to the Book-keeper: Background information when reading Saving Hamlet

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Saving Hamlet

by Molly Booth

Saving Hamlet by Molly Booth X
Saving Hamlet by Molly Booth
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2016, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2017, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Michelle Anya Anjirbag
Buy This Book

About this Book

Tell it to the Book-keeper

This article relates to Saving Hamlet

Print Review

"Want to know what a book-keeper's job is, boy?" he muttered. "We keep the actors from ruinin' the play."

Drawing of the Globe TheatreEmma thinks her sudden promotion to stage manager of her high school's drama department is a stretch in Molly Booth's debut novel Saving Hamlet but it is nothing like the crash course she receives when she finds herself in the 1600s, serving as the accidental assistant to Master Wick, the book-keeper of the Globe Theatre.

The book-keeper was a member of the company of players who was responsible for the promptbooks – what would be known by modern stage hands as the playbook – and shared many of the responsibilities of a modern stage manager. While there is little scholarly evidence to provide a complete and certain list of duties of a book-keeper, it is known that his first job for each play was to take the author's manuscript, known as a 'foul copy,' and commission a 'fair copy' which would become the official copy of the company, and would need to be kept safe from competing theatre companies and publishers. Because actors on the Elizabethan stage only received their lines and stage directions instead of the complete play, the book-keeper also prepared the individual parts, and kept them safe from prying eyes.

In addition to knowing all the blocking for each scene and keeping actors in line and on time as a modern stage manager would, book-keepers had far more expanded responsibilities. These included casting plays and distributing each part to players, and even being responsible for editing the plays as production and rehearsals gave reason for changes to be made to either the dialogue or the actions originally outlined by the playwright. The book-keeper also had to make sure that the production bore the approval of the Master of Revels, so that the play could be performed legally.

Original ManuscriptAt Wick's side, Emma sees into the origins of modern theatre, from costume management to stage effects, to how male actors cross-dressed to bring female characters to life. The book-keeper was responsible for every detail of how a play would be executed when it was performed, and as a result, kept meticulous notes. Scholars posit that many of the stage directions and versions of plays that have survived from the Elizabethan period through today probably contain an evolution of the notes of book-keepers, and therefore it is very difficult to point to a completely "original" manuscript. Use of stage effects, which would not have been written in the manuscript in terms of how they were executed, would have also been managed by the book-keeper.

Emma learns that good organization and management can make or break a play and, through observing Wick, that a good book-keeper can be the difference between a successful production or a flop. She is able to take this knowledge back to her own time and help her high-school production pull through against the odds, with the flexible thinking and confidence learned four centuries earlier.

The Globe Theatre in the 17th century, courtesy of library.calvin.edu
An original Shakespeare manuscript, courtesy of www.bc.co.uk

This "beyond the book article" relates to Saving Hamlet. It originally ran in January 2017 and has been updated for the November 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.