Parenting a Prodigy: Background information when reading The Perfect Girl

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Perfect Girl

by Gilly Macmillan

The Perfect Girl by Gilly Macmillan X
The Perfect Girl by Gilly Macmillan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2016, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2016, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Parenting a Prodigy

Print Review

In Gilly Macmillan's The Perfect Girl, seventeen-year old Zoe Maisey is a musical prodigy. Her genius, Zoe says, is "temptingly bright" to other people but she sounds a strong note of caution: "Be careful what you wish for, because everything has a price." Her mother and stepfather, she explains "are disguising a level of ambition for their children that could choke you." In Zoe's case, because she has a criminal past, her mother is even more desperate for Zoe's prodigious musical ability to be her salvation, the key to them moving forward with a second chance at life.

Child prodigies are most common in the realms of athletics, mathematics, music and chess, and parenting such a child is far from easy.

Lang Lang and Alma Deutscher Lang Lang, one of the world's most successful musicians, was just nine years old, when his piano teacher pronounced that he had no talent. As a result, Lang Lang's father "went totally nuts" and told his son to kill himself.

At the other end of the scale, Alma Deutscher, a ten-year-old girl from Surrey, England, who was featured in a previous BookBrowse article, is growing up in a much less stressful environment. Her life is different from other children, however, and her parents feel it was important that she be homeschooled. Alma, a pianist and violinist who has composed her own version of the Cinderella opera, has been writing music since she was five years old. Her parents' decision to keep her out of the school system has been based on a wish to avoid social pressures and allow her to "be as much a child as she wants to be." For Zoe in The Perfect Girl, social pressures, because of her status as a piano prodigy, contribute to her problems.

Psychiatrist Andrew Solomon, author of Far From the Tree: Parents, Children and the Search for Identity, believes that prodigiously talented children face similar challenges and experiences to those with disabilities and this is equally true for their parents. "All parenting is guesswork," he explains, "and difference of any kind, positive or negative, makes the guessing harder."

Certainly, Solomon would agree with Zoe's cautionary words about the apparent glamor of genius. As he writes in an article for The New York Times, "Stigmatized differences–having Down Syndrome, autism or deafness; being a dwarf or being transgender – are often clouds with silver linings. Families grappling with these apparent problems may find profound meaning, even beauty in them. Prodigiousness, conversely, looks for a distance like silver, but it comes with banks of clouds; genius can be as bewildering and hazardous as a disability."

Picture of Lang Lang from Chancellery of the President of the Republic of Poland
Picture of Alma Deutscher by Alex Nightingale Smith

Article by Kate Braithwaite

This article is from the November 2, 2016 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.