From Facebook Dabbler to Memoirist: Background information when reading Love Warrior

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love Warrior

A Memoir

by Glennon Doyle Melton

Love Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton X
Love Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2016, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
From Facebook Dabbler to Memoirist

Print Review

Glennon Doyle Melton, author of Love Warrior, started her writing career in 2009. Badly needing a break one day, the stay-at-home mother of three turned to Facebook, where she noticed several of her friends were participating in a series of posts called "25 Things About Me." She immediately began sharing incredibly honest and personal tidbits about herself: "I'm a recovering food and alcohol addict, but I still find myself missing food and booze in the same twisted way someone can still love a person who beats them and leaves them for dead."

Glennon Doyle Melton Within hours she got dozens of comments from both friends and strangers offering her words of support and affirmation. She realized that she had struck a chord–that none of her fellow posters were digging deep and truly revealing themselves (others were posting trivia like "My favorite snack food is hummus"). Melton decided that she needed an outlet for writing truths about herself and her life–and found there was an audience for it. She made a point of posting an entry every day before waking up her children. Her writing eventually morphed into a blog, which grew steadily and today attracts over 7 million readers a week.

The turning point in her career came in 2012 when Melton posted an article, "Don't Carpe Diem," in which she discussed her frustration with others who advised her to treasure every moment of her kids' childhoods and who told her that they enjoyed every minute they spent raising their children. Melton expressed the frustration many young mothers feel, baldly stating that she doesn't enjoy every minute. The article went viral, garnering 250,000 hits in just a few hours. It was picked up by major publications such as The Huffington Post, and within a week Melton was getting calls from book agents. She collected the best of her blog entries and published them in 2013 as Carry On, Warrior. The book debuted at #3 on The New York Times bestseller list and sold more than 200,000 copies.

Melton has gone on to become an award-winning blogger and professional speaker. Her memoir, Love Warrior, was announced as an Oprah's book club pick in September 2016, and she was featured on an episode of Oprah's Super Soul TV.

Melton is also the president of Together Rising, a non-profit organization that has raised over $4 million for women and children in crisis. One of its primary fundraising methods is what Melton calls a "Love Flash Mob"–a "Celebration of Life & Love & Hope" where women "come together to support a Sister, a Sister who might need a reminder that She is Loved and Watched Over." It's a little bit like a GoFundMe effort; Melton posts about a woman who needs help and invites others to give up to $25 to be part of the effort. The first time she attempted this, Melton raised over $25,000 in ten hours for a woman who was dying of cancer and wanted to take her family of 10 on their first and last vacation.

On August 1, 2016, just weeks before Love Warrior hit the shelves, Melton announced that she and her husband of 16 years were separating. On the face of it, this news would seem to belie much of what Melton writes about in her memoir, including the work to repair her marriage. Indeed a number of her followers expressed dismay that she and her husband ultimately decided to separate. However, her book clarifies that her husband's infidelity had nothing to do with their separation. Melton explains:

You wake up one day and realize that you have put yourself back together completely differently. That you are whole, finally, and strong – but you are now a different shape, a different size. This sort of change — the change that occurs when you sit inside your own pain — it's revolutionary. When you let yourself die, there is suddenly one day: new life. You are Different. New. And no matter how hard you try, you simply cannot fit into your old life anymore. You are like a snake trying to fit into old, dead skin, or a butterfly trying to crawl back into the cocoon, or new wine.

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article was originally published in November 2016, and has been updated for the September 2017 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.