MLA Platinum Award Press Release

The Pew Research Center: Background information when reading Agnostic

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Agnostic

A Spirited Manifesto

by Lesley Hazleton

Agnostic by Lesley Hazleton X
Agnostic by Lesley Hazleton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2016, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2017, 224 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Pew Research Center

This article relates to Agnostic

Print Review

In Agnostic, author Lesley Hazelton states: "The most respected polls on faith and belief are run by the Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life, which has been taking the pulse of both the American and the international soul, as it were, since 2001."

According to their website, "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions." The center states its mission as generating "a foundation of facts that enriches the public dialogue and supports sound decision-making. We are nonprofit, nonpartisan and nonadvocacy. We value independence, objectivity, accuracy, rigor, humility, transparency and innovation."

The Pew Research Center grew out of a 1990 research project initiated by the Times Mirror newspaper company which conducted regular polls on politics and major policy issues. Following its success as a neutral, independent "just-the-facts" approach, the project was taken over by the Pew Charitable Trusts, an independent non-profit organization established by the children of Sun Oil Company founder Joseph N. Pew and his wife, Mary Anderson Pew. It was renamed the Pew Research Center for the People & the Press in 1996. Over the years it grew to target more trends than just those in politics, adding surveys on journalism (1997), the Internet (1999), religion (2001), Hispanic issues (2001) and global attitudes (2001), and its activities are largely funded by grants from The Pew Charitable Trusts.

With the Forum on Religion and Public Life, the Pew Research Center "seek[s] to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs in the U.S. and around the world. Through public opinion surveys, demographic studies and other social science research, we examine the religious composition of countries, the influence of religion on politics, the extent of government and social restrictions on religion, and views on abortion, same-sex marriage, stem cell research and many other topics." The center states that its U.S. Religious Landscape survey is a benchmark for understanding religion in the United States. The key topics this research encompasses include:

  • Religious affiliation, beliefs and practices in the U.S.
  • Changes in the global religious landscape
  • Religion and politics in the U.S.
  • Government and social restrictions on religion, worldwide
  • According to a Slate article, the Pew Research Center is considered one of the least biased, most reliable polling organizations in the country. However the organization has been criticized for the small sample sizes in many of its surveys. Fewer than one in 10 Americans contacted for a Pew study respond, and consequently critics point out that Pew does not reach a representative subset of the population.

    Article by Kim Kovacs

    This "beyond the book article" relates to Agnostic. It originally ran in June 2016 and has been updated for the April 2017 paperback edition.

    This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" articles
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
    • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three ...
  • Book Jacket: Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    by Dexter Palmer
    The year is 1726 and the sleepy town of Godalming has been rocked by scandal. Called to the bedside ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Creatures
    by Crissy Van Meter

    Set on the eve of an island wedding, this provocative debut novel exerts a pull as strong as the tides.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.