Malta During World War II: Background information when reading Everyone Brave is Forgiven

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Everyone Brave is Forgiven

by Chris Cleave

Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave X
Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2016, 432 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2017, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Malta During World War II

This article relates to Everyone Brave is Forgiven

Print Review

Map of MaltaThe island country of Malta, one of the key settings in Chris Cleave's Everyone Brave is Forgiven, might be tiny, but its location between Italy and North Africa, halfway between the Strait of Gibraltar and Egypt, has made it a strategically important naval base for hundreds, if not thousands, of years - including during World War II.

Malta voluntarily became part of the British Empire in 1800 and was a key part of Britain's Mediterranean presence right through World War II. Its vulnerable proximity to Italy and North Africa during World War II, however, put the island in considerable jeopardy, and from the early days of the war in 1940 through the middle of 1942, it (and the British naval troops stationed there) were under near-constant threat from both Italian and German offenses. Axis General Erwin Rommel, head of forces in North Africa, said, "without Malta the Axis will end by losing control of North Africa."

Siege of MaltaIn their determination to control Malta, the Axis forces submitted the island to a concerted barage of direct bombing of the island itself, and sustained attacks on the supply ships that were serving Maltese residents and British troops alike. The so-called Siege of Malta lasted nearly two and a half years and resulted in the deaths or injuries of more than two thousand airmen and the deaths of thirteen hundred civilians, as well as the deaths of more than seventeen thousand people whose ships were lost at sea. In 1947, the British government gave Malta thirty million pounds to help rebuild the island's deeply damaged buildings and infrastructure. Malta became an independent country in 1964, and the last British troops left in 1979, when an economic pact to stablize the Maltese economy ended. It joined the European Union in 2004 and, today, is a highly industrialized country with a predominantly service-based economy in which tourism represents about 15% of GDP.

Map of Malta, courtesy of www.edrichon.com
Service personnel and civilians clear up debris on a heavily bomb-damaged street in Valletta, Malta on 1 May 1942.

Article by Norah Piehl

This "beyond the book article" relates to Everyone Brave is Forgiven. It originally ran in May 2016 and has been updated for the March 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.