MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reiving: Background information when reading Fair Helen

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Fair Helen

by Andrew Greig

Fair Helen by Andrew Greig X
Fair Helen by Andrew Greig
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2015, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2016, 260 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reiving

This article relates to Fair Helen

Print Review

In the 14th century, the land on either side of the border between England and Scotland became known as the "Border Country" or "The Borders." This area, where Fair Helen is set, was frequently used as a thoroughfare by English and Scottish armies, and consequently the residents were constantly impoverished as the militias sought to supply themselves from local crops and livestock. The area also suffered from a lack of law and order; defense of property came only with the help from family and so the bonds of the clans were reinforced. Amidst this lawlessness and poverty a new occupation was born: that of reiver. Almost all the male characters in Fair Helen are reivers.

Reiving refers to the plundering or raiding of livestock, although any personal property was fair game. Generally a party of men, numbering 12 to 50, would ride out at night and steal a laird's cattle or sheep under the supposed ethos that all property was common, and so they were really only taking what was theirs. Most raids took place between Lammas, August 1, and Candlemas, February 2.

Reivers Raid on Gilnockie Tower These raiding parties were planned like military operations and could last for days. The reivers were heavily armed and dressed for war, too, often wearing a steel "bonnet" and leather jackets lined with steel plates or horn. Their weaponry included swords, daggers, axes, a "lang spear" (akin to a lance), and later, pistols. Their small, sturdy ponies, known as "hobblers," could cover large swaths of difficult ground at high speed, making them especially suited for their task. The escape from the scene of the crime was extremely hazardous as the band could only flee at the pace of the slowest animal.

There was also a distinct type of action which could occur at any time of year called the "Hot-Trod," in which revenge was permitted against a clan guilty of reiving as long as the theft had occurred no more than six days prior. This tit-for-tat violence remained common until the early 17th century, when James VI of Scotland added James I of England to his titles. The final straw was a raid by James' Scottish citizens on his newly acquired subjects in Cumbria in the north of England. Adding fuel to the fire was the reivers' statement to the monarchy that with Queen Elizabeth dead, England had no ruler at all until another one was officially crowned, and therefore their actions weren't subject to the law. James issued a proclamation in response to bring order to the region; the term "The Borders" was formally forbidden and the area was renamed "the Middle Shires." In the first year, the crown executed 79 individuals for being rebellious and disorderly, and others were exiled to the far corners of the newly dubbed Great Britain. Residents of the Middle Shires were forbidden to carry weapons or to own a horse worth more than 50 shillings, and those who violated these ordinances were stripped of their land. By the early 1620s, peace was the norm in the region, with reiving being mostly stamped out by the end of the century.

There was no social stigma associated with being a reiver – it was just what one did for a living – and reivers came from every social class; indeed, it was the principal occupation of many Border families. There is some debate as to whether the reivers were bands of daring rogues or more akin to the Sicilian Mafia. Many ballads romanticized their deeds, and Sir Walter Scott further idealized them in his 1802-1803 collection of Border Ballads published as The Minstrelsy of the Scottish Border, which serves as the inspiration for Fair Helen.

Picture of Reivers raid on Gilnockie Tower by G Cattermole

Article by Kim Kovacs

This "beyond the book article" relates to Fair Helen. It originally ran in January 2016 and has been updated for the November 2016 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.