Quicksand: Background information when reading Quicksand

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Quicksand

by Steve Toltz

Quicksand by Steve Toltz X
Quicksand by Steve Toltz
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2015, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2016, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Darcie R.J. Abbene
Buy This Book

About this Book

Quicksand

This article relates to Quicksand

Print Review

QuicksandThough there is no literal quicksand in Steve Toltz's novel, his main character, Aldo Benjamin, is consistently trapped in a metaphorical quicksand. He struggles through many varieties of bad luck, but that classic epitome of bad luck - getting stuck in quicksand - might not spell the certain death that some think.

According to Scientific American, a mass of sand particles is typically 25-30% air or water. The types of sand particles that make up quicksand, however, are a little different; they are more elongated in their shape, and don't fit together as neatly. Thus, up to 70% of quicksand is filled with air or water. Quicksand becomes dangerous when a vibration or stress causes the elongated grains to collapse against each other which, in turn, creates a drawing down or sinking motion.

These areas of loosely packed sand particles are created by an upward movement of water which is typically found near oceans and natural springs, and along riverbanks. So, despite what movies might lead you to believe, it's pretty hard to fall into them accidentally, and they are rarely found in the desert.

A study recounted in National Geographic puts to rest all the fears of fully disappearing in a pit of quicksand. The study reveals that, in fact, it is unlikely you could drown. The reason you can't actually sink all the way down? Density. Researchers discovered that because quicksand's density of 2 grams per milliliter is higher than humans' 1 gram per milliliter, the tricky sand cannot draw the human body in the whole way.

But make no mistake - it can still trap you. And that has to do with the viscosity, or thickness, of the sand. As you struggle in quicksand, the sand liquefies which actually increases its gooeyness because of the disposition of the the sand sediment. Daniel Bonn, author of the quicksand study recounted in National Geographic, advises to "wiggle your legs around. This creates a space between the legs and the quicksand through which water can flow down to loosen the sand." But you have to do it gradually.

The fact that you can be trapped in quicksand without being sucked down to your doom makes the title of Steve Toltz's novel even more appropriate for Aldo Benjamin, who endlessly struggles in situations that trap him but don't quite do him in. Although there are circumstances in which people die in quicksand - due to incoming tides or overexposure to harsh elements - most fears of death by quicksand can now be assuaged.

Quicksand, courtesy of Solipsist~commonswiki

This "beyond the book article" relates to Quicksand. It originally ran in October 2015 and has been updated for the April 2016 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.