MLA Platinum Award Press Release

The Space Shuttle Program: Background information when reading Leaving Orbit

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Leaving Orbit

Notes from the Last Days of American Spaceflight

by Margaret Lazarus Dean

Leaving Orbit by Margaret Lazarus Dean X
Leaving Orbit by Margaret Lazarus Dean
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 2015, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Space Shuttle Program

This article relates to Leaving Orbit

Print Review

In Leaving Orbit, Margaret Lazarus Dean celebrates the utilitarian model of spaceflight as imagined by the Shuttle program, which was initiated in 1981.

Shuttle EndeavorBefore Shuttle, during the "heroic" era of spaceflight, small capsules were launched into space on the backs of rockets and disintegrated over the ocean upon the rockets' reentry and landing. The large spaceships of the Shuttle program, however, were designed to get to space and return so they could be reused. "From the start, the idea of the shuttle had been an idea for a fleet, with the reliability that comes with multiple identical vehicles," Lazarus Dean explains. "One orbiter could be prepared for flight while another was in space and yet another undergoing repairs. Ultimately, the fleet was to consist of five orbiters, taking astronauts and cargo to space with a regularity more like a commercial airline's than the risky one-off ventures of Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo."

Shuttle AtlantisThe shuttles left from Cape Canaveral Space Station in Florida on missions that lasted from a couple of days to a week or more. Specially equipped with robotic arms and large cargo bays, the shuttles were used for routine satellite repairs and creating the International Space Station, a permanent laboratory outpost in space. Five shuttles in all — Atlantis, Columbia, Challenger, Discovery and Endeavour — clocked 135 flights over the Shuttle program's three-decade long run, which formally ended in July 2011 when Atlantis returned after a 13-day trip to deliver parts and supplies to the International Space Station.

Of the five shuttles, two met with tragic endings including the Challenger disaster in 1986, which many children watched live on television because one of the flight crew was a New Hampshire schoolteacher, Christa McAuliffe (see Beyond the Book for My Sunshine Away). In February 2003, Columbia disintegrated over Texas just a few minutes before landing.

Pillars of CreationDespite these tragedies, the shuttle program contributed significantly to our understanding of the universe, most noticeably with the April 1990 launch of Discovery, which set the Hubble Space Telescope into operation. Incidentally initial images from Hubble were a touch blurred, but after a 1993 repair by the crew of Endeavour, the Hubble transmitted crystal-clear images back to earth. (This is a story too long to tell but one worth reading about as a great example of creativity and ingenuity.) The images from the Hubble are breathtaking and continue to greatly expand our knowledge of the universe.

The Shuttle program was also responsible for sending Sally Ride, the first woman astronaut, into space on board the Challenger in 1983. The three remaining shuttles and a prototype are now housed in museums across the country.

Endeavor, docked with the International Space Station, courtesy of Soerfm
Atlantis, beginning the last mission of the Space Shuttle Program, in 2011, courtesy of Mark Schierbecker
One of Hubble's most famous images, "Pillars of Creation" shows stars forming in the Eagle Nebula, courtesy of Crisco 1492

Article by Poornima Apte

This article relates to Leaving Orbit. It first ran in the June 17, 2015 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.