MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Colorism: Background information when reading God Help the Child

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

God Help the Child

A novel

by Toni Morrison

God Help the Child by Toni Morrison X
God Help the Child by Toni Morrison
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2015, 192 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2016, 192 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kate Braithwaite
Buy This Book

About this Book

Colorism

This article relates to God Help the Child

Print Review

In the opening paragraph of God Help the Child, Toni Morrison gives voice to Sweetness, a woman describing herself as "light-skinned with good hair, what we call high yellow," who gives birth to a child with very dark skin. She says, "It didn't take no more than an hour after they pulled her out from between my legs to realize something was wrong. Really wrong. She was so black she scared me. Midnight black, Sudanese black."

Sweetness is about to make her own daughter a victim of colorism.

The many shades of colorism The term "colorism," first coined in a 1982 essay by Alice Walker, describes prejudice or discrimination against individuals with a dark skin tone, typically amongst people of the same ethnic or racial group. The issue is not confined to African American people - it also affects Latin American, and Asian communities - but in the United States its origin is inexorably linked to the practice of slavery. As slave masters fathered children on slave women, lighter skinned offspring were produced and treated more favorably. While naturally dark-skinned slave women were left to work the fields, their children would receive preferential treatment, being brought into plantation homes to serve as house slaves.

In today's society, says Oprah Winfrey, "It really boils down to the belief that the lighter you are the prettier you are, the smarter you are." Winfrey featured colorism in an episode of Oprah's Lifeclass in 2014 and two documentaries by Bill Duke and D. Channsin Berry, Dark Girls in 2013 and Light Girls in 2015, also highlight colorism as a real and pressing issue affecting self-esteem, particularly for women and girls.

In Dark Girls, black men talk about their reluctance to be seen with dark-skinned girls, young children pick out the lightest-skin toned doll as the prettiest and numerous women relate their own experiences of being treated negatively or as less attractive because of a darker shade of skin.

In God Help the Child, colorism makes Sweetness unable to physically love her child. She describes her baby breastfeeding as like "having a pickaninny sucking my teat." As Sweetness was growing up, colorism had a practical aspect. Having lighter skin meant being able to use the ladies room in the department store or never having to drink from the colored-only water fountain. Dark skin, for Sweetness' family, was a source of shame.

The current success of skin-whitening cosmetic products suggests colorism is a global issue. An article in The Guardian cites high sales of skin-whitening products in India and Thailand. In Nigeria it has been estimated that nearly 77% of women use a skin-whitening product. With names like "White Perfect" and "Fair and Lovely," it is not difficult to see the association society at large draws between light skin and attractiveness despite how destructive that concept may have become in practice. In God Help the Child, the protagonist, Bride, despite her mother's prejudice against her skin tone, produces her own cosmetic line. She says: "I named it YOU, GIRL: Cosmetics for Your Personal Millennium. It's for girls and women of all complexions from ebony to lemonade to milk. And it's mine, all mine – the idea, the brand, the campaign."

Graphic of colorism from Ebony

Article by Kate Braithwaite

This "beyond the book article" relates to God Help the Child. It originally ran in April 2015 and has been updated for the January 2016 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
    This Is Happiness
    by Niall Williams
    Niall Williams's This Is Happiness offers an extraordinary portrait of a particular moment in the ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Cartier's Hope
    by M. J. Rose

    A Gilded Age gem of ambition & betrayal from the author of New York Times bestseller, Tiffany Blues.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.