Sami Religion: Background information when reading Forty Days Without Shadow

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Forty Days Without Shadow

An Arctic Thriller

by Olivier Truc

Forty Days Without Shadow by Olivier Truc X
Forty Days Without Shadow by Olivier Truc
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2014, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2014, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Sami Religion

This article relates to Forty Days Without Shadow

Print Review

Sami ShamanForty Days Without Shadow sheds light on the native Sami people of northern Norway, most of whom are Lutherans. The Sami also take part in shamanic rituals that emphasize strong connections between the natural and spiritual worlds, although Christianity has been slowly making inroads over the centuries forcing the practice of the native religion underground.

A central aspect of the Sami shamanic rituals is the usage of drums as a conduit to channel spirits. The Sami also used a drum to forecast weather and other natural events. In fact, Mattis Labba, the Sami who is killed in the story, has ancestors who were skilled in such practices. They channeled higher spirits through use of a drum, a skill Labba did not fully learn, even though he was an expert drum maker.

Sami DrumWith the accelerating encroachment of Christianity in the 18th centuery, however, these drums became an endangered species. Since the drums were such a central aspect of the Sami religion, they stood out as ready targets in the culture war between local shamanic rituals and the native Sami on one side, and the Christians on the other. As the goal became to save the "heathens" with Christianity, the shamanic practices came under attack and getting rid of the drum seemed to be the best way to go about things.To that end, many drums were systematically destroyed, although a few have survived in homes or as part of museum collections.

SamiIncidentally, the prologue for Forty Days Without Shadow, set in 1693, in central Lapland, features a native being burned at the stake for his "pagan" beliefs. Along with such "witchcraft" purges, when the Scandinavians brought Christianity with them, laws were passed to bring the unfaithful over. A formal church for the Sami was instituted by royal decree at the end of the seventeenth century. Lars Levi Laestadius (1800-1861), a half Sami man, was key in bringing Lutheranism to the Sami. A polymath, Laestadius could deliver sermons in native dialects, which was instrumental in converting the non-believers. Due to the vast landscape of the tundra and the Sami's nomadic lifestyle, church-going is reserved for special occasions. Laestadianism is a particularly conservative branch of Lutheranism. The novel describes that followers are not allowed to wear makeup or even hang curtains on windows.

Photo-journalist Erika Larsen spent three years living with the Sami and documenting their lives for National Geographic magazine. She describes the experience in a related article in The New York Times. The accompanying slideshow is worth exploring.

A copper carving (1767) by O.H. von Lode showing a Sami shaman with his rune drum, courtesy of Skogsfrun
Sami drum, courtesy of Andreas Praefcke
Sami in Norway, 1928, courtesy of Thorguds

Article by Poornima Apte

This "beyond the book article" relates to Forty Days Without Shadow. It first ran in the January 21, 2015 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.