Azaleas: Background information when reading Mister Owita's Guide to Gardening

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mister Owita's Guide to Gardening

How I Learned the Unexpected Joy of a Green Thumb and an Open Heart

by Carol Wall

Mister Owita's Guide to Gardening by Carol Wall
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2014, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2015, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Azaleas

Print Review

If you've always been wowed by azaleas, which feature in Mister Owita's Guide to Gardening, here are some fun facts.

R. vaseyi Azaleas, members of the genus Rhodondendron, can be found all around the world. There are deciduous azaleas with origins in North America; evergreen varieties from Japan, Korea, China, and Taiwan, and a whole host of hybrid crosses from some of these same countries. The Royal Horticultural Society, based in London, has an International Rhododendron Registry that lists over 800 species of azaleas.

R. canadense There are 17 azaleas native to North America. R. vaseyi (the R stands for Rhododendron), which has pink to white flowers, can be found mostly in four mountainous North Carolina counties. R. canadense was described by famed botanist Carl Linnaeus in 1762 as a low shrub, and is found in swamps and along the banks of streams from Canada down to Pennsylvania. R. flammeum is orange to deep red, and is tolerant of heat in the Piedmont region of South Carolina and Georgia.

The white to pale pink R. viscosum has the distinction of being the first North American azalea to be grown in England in the late seventeenth century, with seed collected by English missionary John Bannister. In North America, it stretches from Maine to Florida, and to Texas.

R. flammeum The Azalea Society of America lists a seemingly infinite variety of azaleas in various colors. There's the light-pink Allure; the reddish Kin-no-sai, whose petals are more widely spread out than the average azalea; the Leonore, which is a sharp fuchsia color; and Rivermist in faded violet.

Scrolling through these different azaleas, one wonders about the inspiration for some of their names. There is Rose Elf, Rose Souffle, Pot of Gold, Dreamboat, Dreamsicle, Galaxy, and many named after presidents including President Cleveland, President Roosevelt (whether Theodore or FDR, it doesn't say), and "Pres. F.D. Roosevelt." The names are almost as fascinating as the azaleas themselves.

Pictures of azalea varieties from Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology

Article by Rory L. Aronsky

This article was originally published in April 2014, and has been updated for the February 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.