Slow Medicine: Background information when reading Knocking on Heaven's Door

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Knocking on Heaven's Door

The Path to a Better Way of Death

by Katy Butler

Knocking on Heaven's Door by Katy Butler X
Knocking on Heaven's Door by Katy Butler
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2014, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Slow Medicine

This article relates to Knocking on Heaven's Door

Print Review

In Knocking on Heaven's Door, Katy Butler describes a relatively new movement in modern healthcare termed "slow medicine," and advocates urgently for its principles to be applied in hospitals and specialists' offices across the United States. The slow medicine ethos mimics that of the slow food movement; taking time and applying restraint in care is favored over rushing into multiple and/or extreme medical measures. Slow medicine also favors a holistic, patient-centered approach versus the sometimes piecemeal, symptom-fixing focus of today's medical culture.

Rocking Chair by artist Suzanne DeJohnThe principles of slow medicine are particularly applicable to geriatric care. Butler references Dennis McCullough's book, My Mother, Your Mother as an excellent source for those interested in improving the quality and compassion involved in end-of-life care. McCullough advocates taking the time to listen to patients, caregivers and families, and to consider quality as well as length of life. His book walks readers through eight stages of late life and death, giving examples of his own experience with his mother's passing as well as advice for addressing the process with a slow medicine approach.

Slow Medicine logoFinding physicians who are willing to practice slow medicine is not only beneficial to the elderly or those in the final stages of fatal disease, however. Patients of all ages who need care due to confusing symptoms, chronic illness or psychological difficulties are good candidates for this type of care. Victoria Sweet, another successful author of narrative nonfiction, discovered the merits of slow medicine in her two decades working with many different kinds of patients at an almshouse in California. In a 2012 Wall Street Journal blog post, Sweet compares the role of a physician to that of a gardener: someone who nurtures and empowers. Her book well illustrates what doctor and writer Danielle Ofri distinguishes as the "practice of medicine" versus "the delivery of health care." Sweet, of course, acknowledges the need for fast medicine in acute situations, as would Katy Butler, who is careful in Knocking on Heaven's Door to apply these ancient, but counter-culture ideas to appropriate medical situations.

There are excellent and numerous caregiver resources provided by Katy Butler on her website.

First image: Rocking chair in Dennis McCollough's Dartmouth Medicine Magazine by artist Suzanne DeJohn
Second image: Slow Medicine logo for Italian Slow Medicine organization. The italian translates to sober, respect, right.

Article by Stacey Brownlie

This "beyond the book article" relates to Knocking on Heaven's Door. It originally ran in October 2013 and has been updated for the June 2014 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.