The Royaumont Abbey, France's Treasure: Background information when reading In Falling Snow

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In Falling Snow

by Mary-Rose MacColl

In Falling Snow by Mary-Rose MacColl X
In Falling Snow by Mary-Rose MacColl
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Aug 2013, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Royaumont Abbey, France's Treasure

Print Review

The Royaumont Abbey, where much of In Falling Snow is set, is located approximately 18 miles (30 kilometers) north of Paris in Val-d'Oise.

Dedicated in 1228 CE, the structure was commissioned by King Louis IX as a Cistercian abbey. The Cistercian order was established by a group of Benedictine monks in the Cîteaux Abbey around the year 1098. Their intent was to return to a strict observance of the Rule of Saint Benedict, and their order was known for its austerity and seclusion as well as a return to manual labor, particularly fieldwork. Cistercian architecture reflects these values, being simple and utilitarian and lacking adornment (elaborate architecture was considered a distraction). The abbeys are in remote valleys for isolation, and built, where possible, using smooth, pale stone. Royaumont remains a classic example of this type of architecture.

Construction of Royaumont Abbey was completed in 1235, and Louis IX visited often. It remains the final resting place of several members of the French royal family, including three of Louis's children and two of his grandchildren. It became a place of relaxation for kings and high-ranking churchmen until the French Revolution.

The Royaumont Abbey In the early 1790s the abbey was dissolved and the church destroyed. The remaining buildings and lands were sold as national property. Between 1791 and 1864 it was developed into a large textile factory – spinning thread, weaving cotton; producing laundry canvas and printed fabrics of wool and silk. Although stones from the abbey were used to build workers' quarters, the sacristy, cloister and refectory remained intact and are still visible today.

Nuns from The Contemplative Sisters of the Holy Family of Bordeaux (founded in 1859) acquired Royaumont in 1869 and re-established a religious congregation there. They also undertook restoration of the building and grounds - the best-known addition was a garden made up of four symmetrical grass plots with a basin at the center to symbolize the Garden of Eden.

The Goüin family, wealthy French industrialists and bankers, purchased the property in 1905, and in 1912 the owners commissioned a new garden for the cloister by celebrated landscape architect Achille Duchêne (1866–1947) who resurrected the traditional French garden. During WWI, it served as a field hospital run by a team of Scottish doctors and nurses, its remoteness helping to preserve it from the damage incurred by many other French buildings (the abbey was very close to the fighting - it is about 13km southwest of Chantilly, part of the "Western Front" during the hostilities of World War I). In 1936, owners Henry and Isabel Goüin began holding public concerts and in 1938 opened a hostel for artists and intellectuals. Royaumont was listed as a historic monument in 1948.

Today it serves as a cultural center providing professional training in music and dance, concentrating on "historically informed performance practice." The Royaumont has a very active concert series and grounds are open for tours 365 days a year. The property includes a bookstore and a café. Pink Floyd performed live in 1971; the recording of the concert shows the interior of the abbey.

The abbey's website allows you to take a virtual tour.

Picture of Royaumont Abbey corridors from Wikipedia.com by Donar Reiskoffer

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article is from the October 2, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.