Creating a Sense of Place: Background information when reading Visitation Street

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Visitation Street

by Ivy Pochoda

Visitation Street by Ivy Pochoda X
Visitation Street by Ivy Pochoda
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2013, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2014, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Creating a Sense of Place

This article relates to Visitation Street

Print Review

In Visitation Street Ivy Pochoda puts us smack in the middle of a place like few authors can.

"Music from Coffey Park is rolling down Visitation Street, signaling the kickoff of Old Timers Day on the backside of the neighborhood. Overnight, families from the projects have staked out plots of the park, jockeying to get prime real estate for their barbecues ... Men carrying foil trays of macaroni salad and slaw search out their families' tables. Kids chase one another between the grills. Grandmothers parade their visiting grandchildren."

Coffey ParkIt is no accident that our mouths might now be watering for macaroni salad and grilled burgers and chicken. This – the ability to create what is called a sense of place, only happens with careful and often painstaking effort on the part of an author. That it is a learned skill is obvious not by its presence so much as by its absence. Who hasn't read a book with a plot that could have taken place anywhere? Where halfway through the book you have to stop and try to remember where the story is happening? Characters, even well-crafted ones, often float through a story anchored in nothingness. A book might very well be good, but without establishing a strong sense of place it is not likely to remain in a reader's memory for long. Locale completes our mental picture. We cannot imagine Harry Potter without Hogwarts.

Take a book such as Stephen King's 11/22/63 about a teacher who travels back in time to try to prevent JFK's assassination. A master at creating a sense of time and place, King obviously did extensive research to draw his reader into the world of the 1960s. And once there, the reader can actually see Lee Harvey Oswald's apartment and all the things of 1963 – the cars, the clothes, the TVs, the lack of cell phones – because King describes them in such detail it'd be difficult not to feel immersed in that period of American history.

Adolph Hitler watching 1936 OlympicsFlight From Berlin by David John takes place in Berlin at the time of the 1936 Olympics. Again, while John places his characters in the midst of real historically accurate events, it is his skill at describing the tone, or feel, of a country in the schizophrenic grip of Hitler on the rise that keeps the book memorable long after reading it. One of the methods he employs to accomplish this is to see Berlin through the eyes of his protagonist. While Pochoda describes Red Hook through an all-seeing eye and King inserts sensory details in a way that feels like – but is definitely not – an afterthought, both descriptions are largely nonjudgmental. John's Berlin, on the other hand, is a decidedly sinister, dangerous place.

Valentino PierIn Kim Barnes' In the Kingdom of Men the protagonist is an American woman living with her husband in an Arabian compound for oil company employees. Here the reader feels a sense of place via Barnes's depiction of the effect this foreign place has on her protagonist. The story depends upon interaction between character and location. It is yet another tool for successfully limning a city or country. Pochoda's Red Hook shapes the people who call it home. Barnes's heroine is powerfully affected by an environment that is alien to her.

There are as many ways to create a sense of place in writing as there are writers, and there are many books as well as writers' websites that discuss the topic. Here are a few:

Image of Coffey Park and Valentino Pier from Flavorwire by Brady Dale

Article by Donna Chavez

This "beyond the book article" relates to Visitation Street. It originally ran in August 2013 and has been updated for the April 2014 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.