Food Tourism: Background information when reading Overbooked

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Overbooked

The Exploding Business of Travel and Tourism

by Elizabeth Becker

Overbooked by Elizabeth Becker X
Overbooked by Elizabeth Becker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2013, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2016, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Food Tourism

Print Review

When we visited Merida in Mexico a few years ago, my husband had already decided where he wanted to eat and when. We had to taste the chaya drink made from chaya leaves, had to eat the cochinita pibil and eat at La Casa de Frida, a restaurant that was also home to many Frida Kahlo collectibles. Granted the Apte family is a little obsessed with food, but we're not alone. Food tourism, where the food and wine of a region are big draws, is getting to be big business.

According to the World Food & Travel Association, whose mission is to preserve and promote the world's food and drink cultures through travel, food tourism may be defined as "the pursuit and enjoyment of unique and memorable food and drink experiences, both far and near." Food tourism circuits need not be restricted to three-star Michelin restaurants either. How about street food vendors and local pubs? All food that contributes to local flavor is part of the experience. Food tourism has become so popular that a special conference devoted to the topic, Taste Trekkers, won way more than its desired funding goal on Kickstarter.

A report from the U.N. World Tourism Organization on global food tourism states that terroir (the flavor of a place's food) and an increased emphasis on local foods and sustainability are driving the popularity of food tourism. The UNWTO report shows case studies around the world where countries have capitalized on local cuisines to draw food tourists.

Canada: Taste TrailSavour Ottawa is a Canadian-based marketing strategy that draws tourists to the food circuit in Ottawa. Also in Canada, Prince Edward County's Taste Trail is an example of a popular tourist draw. Participants in this trail include The Restaurant on the Knoll, which serves locally raised beef, and a number of wineries including Huff Estates Winery named one of the top 20 wineries in Canada.

Street vendor in MalaysiaMalaysia: This multi-ethnic country is working hard to promote its varied cuisine in keeping with its tourism motto, "Malaysia, Truly Asia." Given that the Straits of Malacca were a prominent stop on the spice route between Europe and Asia, spices are the primary focus of the marketing campaign. The cuisine is a blend of Malay, Chinese and Indian flavors, and because the country has a majority Muslim population, the ready access to halal food makes Malaysia one of the top three preferred destinations of Muslim travelers. A New York Times article, "36 Hours in Kuala Lumpur" recommends the open-air street kitchens hawking wok-fried noodles and freshly steamed seafood.

Azerbaijan: shashlikAccording to the UNWTO report, the Caspian state is winning accolades around the world for its varied cuisine and places food promotion as a firm part of its marketing strategy. The report recommends checking out shashlik (kebab) houses in the country, which are just as warm and inviting as Italian taverns. Pilaw, a rice dish flavored with saffron (and often, cherries) is also a popular offering. The report adds that "hospitable owners and cooks will offer you the best menu of the season and will always wish you 'Noosh Olsoon' – the equivalent of Bon Appetit.

Article by Poornima Apte

This article was originally published in May 2013, and has been updated for the February 2016 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.