Small-Town Wonders: Background information when reading All That Is

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All That Is

by James Salter

All That Is by James Salter X
All That Is by James Salter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2013, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2014, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Small-Town Wonders

Print Review

The view from the Firehouse on Sparkill creekIn All That Is, just after World War II, one of Bowman's good friends is so captivated by the village of Piermont, New York that he buys a house close to the water and watches the Hudson river flow by from his home. The town, in New York's Rockland County, is picturesquely framed by the Hudson river on one side and the Tallman Mountain State Park on the other.

These days Piermont, which is just a few miles south of the Tappan Zee bridge (one of the main connectors between New York City and New Jersey), is a fashionable village attracting yuppie visitors and artists, but not so long ago it was quite a depressed town. It had a manufacturing base and was home to the Continental Can Company in the 50s and a paper company, which shuttered down in the 1970s. Piermont was so depressed during the '70s that Woody Allen shot a depression era movie in the town. This continued into the 80s, and more recently the town suffered significant damage from Hurricane Sandy.

Despite Sandy, today Piermont is a thriving, spirited community, and a destination for bird watching, fishing, and hiking, as well as one of the best places to view the Hudson and the scenic Palisades cliffs. It is also home to the Piermont drawbridge, which was built in 1880 by the King Iron Bridge Company. It's possibly the only known hand-bridge in the United States.

Trinity Church in Upperville, VAUpperville, Virginia, is also beautifully portrayed in All That Is. Bowman travels to Virginia, home to his ex-wife, Vivian Amussen. The family owns horse farms and most of the parts of the story that are set in Virginia are based in Upperville. During the time period that the book is set in (shortly after World War II), there were no hotels in this small village, you could only live there. The unincorporated village boasts of many thoroughbred horse farms and hosts the annual Upperville Horse and Colt Show, the oldest horse show in the United States. An architecturally beautiful church, Trinity Church, is one of the village's attractions. Built in the 1950s in the style of a medieval cathedral, it is the third church on the site since 1842.

Upperville once enjoyed popularity as a stop on a trade route. These days, it is best known for its scenic beauty (with its rolling hills, small-town charm, and views of the Blue Ridge Mountains) and of course, the horses. In All That Is, Vivian's father, George, owns a horse farm as well. Many affluent families have their estates in the village which is a Virginia Historic Landmark, on the National Register of Historic Places and within commuter distance of Washington DC.

First photo of a view of the waterfall from the drawbridge at The Firehouse, courtesy of RiverView B&B in Piermont, NY

Second photo of Trinity Church in Upperville, VA

Article by Poornima Apte

This article was originally published in April 2013, and has been updated for the January 2014 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.