Tulsa, the "Oil Capital of the World": Background information when reading A Map of Tulsa

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Map of Tulsa

A Novel

by Benjamin Lytal

A Map of Tulsa by Benjamin Lytal X
A Map of Tulsa by Benjamin Lytal
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Mar 2013, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Tulsa, the "Oil Capital of the World"

This article relates to A Map of Tulsa

Print Review

vintage postcardIn A Map of Tulsa, the protagonist Jim Praley, can't ignore the city's relationship with oil. His girlfriend, Adrienne Booker, is born into a wealthy oil family and Jim remembers "an issue of National Geographic my dad kept, from the '78 oil crisis. Tulsa was on the cover, an aerial photograph of the refineries, lit up like a metropolis at night," he says. Tulsa has boasted of the moniker "oil capital of the world" although whether it still qualifies, is a point that is open for debate.

It was towards the end of the nineteenth century, in 1897, that the Nellie Johnstone well blew in Bartlesville, 40 miles north of Tulsa. The Red Fork and Glen Pool gushers were discovered shortly thereafter and the city, which started publishing the Oil & Gas Journal in 1902, firmly established itself as the Oil Capital of the World. By 1907, around 100 oil companies had made Tulsa their base. The city's access to ready transportation and its scenic beauty were inviting to many corporations who set up headquarters there.

The Jazz Age of the 1920s was a roaring time for Tulsa – the first International Petroleum Exposition and Congress was launched here and the annual expo was soon seen as the place to be if you were a player in the industry. Tulsa's oilmen included J. Paul Getty and Harry Sinclair and many gave generously to philanthropic causes including the arts and education.

Golden DrillerArguably nothing serves as the face of Tulsa's oil fortunes better than The Golden Driller, which at 76 feet tall, is the largest free-standing statue in the world. The mustard-colored oilman even rests his hand on an actual oil derrick. The statue is the official state monument and is a part of the Tulsa County fairgrounds.

Tulsa's place in the US oil industry was pretty secure until Houston started upstaging it during the boom times after World War II. With oil gushers sprouting up in abundance in Texas and offshore drilling also increasing, the city of Houston, with its accessibility to both railroads and ports, started garnering more attention from the industry. Even as Tulsa continued to command respect, the shift to Houston accelerated and was more or less cemented in the 1960s. It is not surprising that Tulsa's ice hockey team and Houston's football team are both called The Oilers!

Article by Poornima Apte

This "beyond the book article" relates to A Map of Tulsa. It first ran in the April 17, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.