The Tenets of Communism: Background information when reading Iron Curtain

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Iron Curtain

The Crushing of Eastern Europe, 1944-1956

by Anne Applebaum

Iron Curtain by Anne Applebaum X
Iron Curtain by Anne Applebaum
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2012, 608 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2013, 640 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Tenets of Communism

Print Review

Karl Marx Communism is an economic and philosophical theory that can be summed up by a phrase made popular by the "father of communism," Karl Marx: "From each, according to his ability, to each according to his need."

In its ideal form, all property is held in common; there is no private ownership. There are also no class divisions, and equal weight is given to everyone in the society regardless of gender or race. Poverty and wealth are both non-existent since all products and services are distributed equally to all. Decisions are based on what will benefit society as a whole as opposed to what will enrich just one person or group.

Although communism became an important influence beginning in the middle of the 19th century, it is not a new theory. Marx believed that it was the natural state for primitive hunter-gatherer communities, and that private property didn't develop until people were well off enough to produce a surplus. The idea of a classless society goes back at least as far as Ancient Greece with the publication of Plato's The Republic around 380 BCE. Thomas More's Utopia (1516 CE) portrays a society based on common ownership of property. Various religious communities such as monasteries have also followed communist ideals throughout history, believing that scriptures endorse a communal lifestyle (for example, the Christian Bible's Acts 2:44 seems to indicate the Apostles lived this way – "All the believers were together and had everything in common."). Although there are problems in the model, Kibbutzim – collective farming communities - is still in operation in Israel today.

Modern communism arose as a reaction to the Industrial Revolution in the West, particularly in Great Britain. Industrialization widened the gap between the large (and poorly treated) working class and the increasingly wealthy factory owners. Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels were among those critical of the inequity, and in 1848 collaborated to publish a highly influential pamphlet called "The Communist Manifesto." Allaboutphilosophy.org says this about the manifesto: "In it they declare that many problems in society are due to the unequal distribution of wealth. To bring about happiness and prosperity for all, the distinctions between the rich and poor of society must be eliminated. And since the rich will never give up their goods or status voluntarily, a rebellion of the poor - the working class - is necessary."

Marx and Engels felt that these steps were necessary to bring about a communist society:

  1. The existing government must be overthrown in a revolution
  2. A leader or leaders must gain absolute control over all aspects of society. The Communist Manifesto listed ten points or "planks" to be achieved in this phase:

    • Abolition of private property
    • Heavy progressive income tax
    • Abolition of rights of inheritance
    • Confiscation of property rights
    • Central bank
    • Government ownership of communication and transportation
    • Government ownership of factories and agriculture
    • Government control of labor
    • Corporate farms and regional planning
    • Government control of education
  3. Utopia is achieved

The works of Marx heavily influenced Vladimir Lenin, the founder of Russia's Bolshevik Party, eventually leading to the October Revolution in 1917 – the first time in history a communist political party seized state power.

Several countries did endure violent revolutions and a shift to communism during the 20th century as predicted by Marx. In addition to Russia, communist governments arose in Albania, Angola, Cambodia, and Yugoslavia among others. Today, there are only five countries in the world where a communist party either leads a ruling coalition or holds a monopoly on power - China, Cuba, Laos, North Korea and Vietnam. There are about a dozen additional countries where the communist party participates in the ruling coalition; and a number of others with one or more elected officials who are members of the communist party.

Picture from historyguide.org

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article was originally published in January 2013, and has been updated for the August 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.