Arvid Jansen: A Familiar Face: Background information when reading It's Fine By Me

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

It's Fine By Me

by Per Petterson

It's Fine By Me by Per Petterson X
It's Fine By Me by Per Petterson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2012, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2013, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elena Spagnolie
Buy This Book

About this Book

Arvid Jansen: A Familiar Face

This article relates to It's Fine By Me

Print Review

In It's Fine By Me, on his first day at Veitvet School in 1965, 13-year-old Audun Sletten meets Arvid Jansen – a young man who would become his best, and one of his only, friends. "A few girls were skipping rope, and coming straight towards me was a boy on crutches… I glanced left and right, but there was no one else by the fence. He had dark, curly hair and boots like mine, with KINKS written on the one and HOLLIES on the other… I had decided not to make friends with anyone at this school, but this bloke was hard to refuse."

Though he plays a secondary role to Audun in It's Fine By Me, Arvid Jansen will be familiar to Per Petterson fans; he has starred in four of the author's other works, each of which describes the character's life at a different stage, from the tender age of six all the way through his late thirties.

  • In Petterson's debut, a collection of short stories entitled Ashes in My Mouth, Sand in My Shoes (Aske I munnen, san I skoa, 1987), we meet six-year-old Arvid who lives in Veitvet in Oslo. He has a father who works in a shoe factory and a Danish mother. The stories explore Arvid's relationship with his father.
  • Echoland
  • Two years later, in Petterson's first novel, Echoland (Ekkoland, 1989), Arvid is now twelve years old, spending the summer with his grandparents in Denmark in a tiny flat above his grandma's milk shop. He's a kid who lets the world worry him, and often wonders why his grandmother cries behind closed doors, what happened between his mom and dad before he was born. And why does he think so much about Bruno Angelini, the baker's son from Naples who is one of his ancestors?
  • Then – after his sidekick role in It's Fine By Me (Det er greit for meg, 1992) – Arvid returns in In the Wake (I kjølvannet, 2000). One morning, when Arvid comes-to in the doorway of a bookstore in Oslo, his grief comes rushing back to him in devastating flashes: many of those he has loved are dead, he's estranged from his wife and family, and he abandoned his career as a writer and bookseller. Now, he must confront his demons and recognize his own role in the disaster that killed his family.
  • I Curse the River of Time
  • Finally, in I Curse the River of Time (Jeg forbanner tidens elv, 2008), it is 1989 and Communism is crumbling in Europe. Arvid – now 37 – is in the throes of a divorce at the same time his mother is diagnosed with cancer. As he attempts to negotiate the present, he casts his mind back to holidays on the beach with his brothers, to courtship, and to his early working life, when, as a young Communist, he left his studies to work on a production line.

In an article in The Guardian (January 2009), Petterson explains about Arvid: "He's not my alter ego, he's my stunt man. Things happen to him that could have happened to me, but didn't. He has my mentality." Although Arvid was not created as an autobiographical character, there are similarities between the two men. Tragically, in real life, Petterson's father, mother, brother, and nephew all died one night when a ferry on which they were travelling caught fire. In In the Wake, Arvid suffers the trauma of a similar situation. "What [Arvid] goes though in 14 days, I went through in two years," Petterson says.

Though we don't know whether Arvid will make appearances in Petterson's future works, we can only hope he does. Either way, it's a rare treat to get to know this character so well in the context of so many different stories.

Article by Elena Spagnolie

This "beyond the book article" relates to It's Fine By Me. It originally ran in October 2012 and has been updated for the September 2013 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.