Paul Auster's Brooklyn: Background information when reading Winter Journal

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Winter Journal

by Paul Auster

Winter Journal by Paul Auster X
Winter Journal by Paul Auster
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2012, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2013, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

Paul Auster's Brooklyn

This article relates to Winter Journal

Print Review

Paul Auster is well-known as a Brooklyn writer. In Winter Journal, he writes of first moving to Brooklyn in 1980 after enduring stints in suburbia and an overpriced rental in Manhattan: "Why hadn't you thought of this in 1976? you wondered … but the fact was that Brooklyn had never ever crossed your mind back then, for New York was Manhattan and Manhattan only, and the outer boroughs were as alien to you as the distant countries of Oceania or the Arctic Circle." Auster, of course, never looked back, living in a series of homes in Brooklyn, including the house in Park Slope he has shared with his wife, fellow writer Siri Hustvedt, for the past twenty years.

Reading Auster's descriptions of Brooklyn's tough, almost ugly, underbelly in the 1980s and early 1990s is intriguing, given the borough's current reputation as a hotbed for hipster beekeepers and stroller-pushing young families. Brooklyn has also gained a reputation for its writers, which include Auster and Hustvedt, of course, but also people like Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Safran Foer, Jhumpa Lahiri, Jonathan Lethem, and countless others.

The Essential Guide to Brooklyn Literature 2012The annual Brooklyn Book Festival is one of the largest in the country, drawing largely from the bounty of local authors. Condé Nast Traveler magazine even offers a "Brooklyn Writers' Guide to Brooklyn," complete with the best coffee shops in which to write, the best bookstores, and the best sites for inspiration. Brooklyn Magazine published a special issue called The Essential Guide to Brooklyn Literature in 2012, featuring articles on Brooklyn writers, the indie publishing scene, and what Brooklynites read on the subway during their commutes to day jobs in Manhattan.

Brooklyn Book Festival 2012 With all this literary activity, it's tempting to think of Brooklyn as some kind of writerly nirvana, a place where becoming and succeeding as a writer is somehow easier than elsewhere, surrounded by others pursuing the same goal and by a sort of creative vibe that makes the whole pursuit that much more organic and achievable. Not so, writes Brooklyn author Colson Whitehead in a New York Times essay on the topic: "What's it like to be a writer in Brooklyn?" he asks himself. "It's hard. The way it is everywhere."

Image of Jonny Temple, Edwidge Danticat, Paul Auster, Pete Hamill at Brooklyn Book Festival by Joann Jovinelly

Article by Norah Piehl

This "beyond the book article" relates to Winter Journal. It originally ran in October 2012 and has been updated for the November 2013 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.