What is Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy?: Background information when reading The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving

A Novel

by Jonathan Evison

The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison X
The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2012, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2013, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
What is Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy?

Print Review

Muscular Dystrophy encompasses a a group of usually inherited disorders that involve increasing muscle weakness and loss of muscle tissue over time. Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD) is a rapidly worsening form of the disorder that affects only males. The usual cause is a defective gene carried by the mother, but about one-third of cases appear to be spontaneous mutations in the male's genes. Many mutations of the gene can cause DMD but only some common ones have been identified. Symptoms of DMD, which include fatigue, learning difficulties, muscle weakness and progressive difficulty walking, usually appear early in life around age 5.

DMD's gene inheritance map Diagnosis is primarily accomplished by DNA testing though a muscle biopsy test is sometimes required. If a pregnant woman has the genetic mutation that causes the disease, there is a 50% chance that a female child will inherit that mutation and that a male child will have DMD. Prenatal tests can determine if the fetus has one of the most common mutations that cause DMD.

Many sufferers lose the ability to walk by age 12 and spend the remainder of their lives in a wheelchair. Muscular deterioration leads to breathing difficulties and heart disease. The chest and back become deformed and the muscles of the extremities gradually contract.

Treatment includes respirators, drugs to assist heart function, and steroid drugs to slow the loss of muscle strength, but currently there is no known cure and death by age 25 is typical.

Caring for a DMD patient involves administering medications, supervising diet, assisting with elimination, moving him from bed to wheelchair and back, dressing him, and ensuring proper use of respiratory support as the disease progresses.

Medical research into DNA and drugs, physical therapy and daily patient care have improved the quality and even the duration of life for DMD sufferers. Researchers are also investigating the use of stem cell replacement and gene therapy to repair the muscular damage caused by genetic mutation. It remains to be seen if these approaches could result in a cure.

Picture from Muscular Dystrophy Association

Article by Judy Krueger

This article was originally published in September 2012, and has been updated for the May 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.