The Translation Issue: Background information when reading Divorce Islamic Style

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Divorce Islamic Style

by Amara Lakhous

Divorce Islamic Style by Amara Lakhous X
Divorce Islamic Style by Amara Lakhous
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Mar 2012, 192 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Translation Issue

This article relates to Divorce Islamic Style

Print Review

Novels and bestsellers written in English often get translated into many languages, yet the reverse is seldom accomplished in equal volume. According to the founders of Three Percent, a resource for international literature based at the University of Rochester, "Unfortunately, only about 3% of all books published in the United States are works in translation... An even greater shame is that only a fraction of the titles that do make their way into English are covered by the mainstream media. So despite the quality of these books, most translations go virtually unnoticed and never find their audience."

The situation has been improving gradually, particularly in the last several years. Literary awards often serve to bring foreign literature to the attention of American publishers. Italy has its own awards, such as the Strega Prize, awarded in 2008 to Paolo Giordano for The Solitude of Prime Numbers. Amara Lakhous, author of Divorce Islamic Style, won Italy's Flaiano Prize for his first novel, Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in the Piazza Vittorio. The publisher of his English translations, Europa Editions, has introduced scores of translated international works to the American market, most notably works translated from Italian, creating an increasing demand among English speaking readers.

The United States now has an award for translated literature. Launched by Three Percent in 2007, the Best Translated Book Award is given yearly to both a work of fiction, and of poetry. Both the authors and the translators of these books are recognized. The winners for 2012, announced on May 3rd, were Wiesław Myśliwski's Stone Upon Stone, translated from the Polish by Bill Johnston, and Kiwao Nomura's Spectacle & Pigsty, translated from the Japanese by Kyoko Yoshida and Forrest Gander.

To discover more books translated into English, check out BookBrowse's themed category, "Foreign Language and Translation," which includes the following novels translated from Italian:

Article by Judy Krueger

This "beyond the book article" relates to Divorce Islamic Style. It first ran in the May 30, 2012 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.