The Myths Series: Background information when reading Ragnarok

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ragnarok

The End of the Gods

by A.S. Byatt

Ragnarok by A.S. Byatt X
Ragnarok by A.S. Byatt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2012, 192 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2013, 192 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Myths Series

This article relates to Ragnarok

Print Review

A. S. Byatt's Ragnarok is the most recent addition to The Myths series, published in the UK by Canongate and around the world by various publishers. Launched in 2005, The Myths series has brought together remarkably talented authors to put their own stamp on ancient myths from around the world, including many that are familiar to Western readers.

"The civilization I live in thinks less and less in terms of raw myth, I think," Byatt writes. "The idea of many other writers in the Canongate series has been to assimilate the myths into the form of novels, or modern stories, retell the tales as though the people had personalities and psychologies." Byatt takes a different approach to her chosen myth: framing a fairly conventional retelling in a modern setting and thereby creating an allegory with contemporary repercussions.

What's remarkable about The Myths series is the exquisite variety with which these noted authors approach their source material. The series includes, among others:



A Short History of Myth A Short History of Myth by Karen Armstrong: a nonfiction overview that serves as a terrific introduction to the series and to the study of myth.

The Penelopiad The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood: a retelling of The Odyssey through the point of view of the wife Odysseus left behind and the twelve hanged maids that form a chorus around her.
Lion's Honey Lion's Honey by David Grossman: a recreation of the Old Testament story of Samson and Delilah in which Samson is portrayed as a regular man, not a hero.
Orphans of Eldorado Orphans of Eldorado by Milton Hatoum: an account of an ambitious father and son living together in the fabled white city deep in the Amazon rain forest.
Dream Angus Dream Angus by Alexander McCall Smith: a twentieth century parallel about the Scottish god of love and youth as he searches for the beautiful Caer, the swan maiden he desires.
The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ by Philip Pullman: a controversial retelling of the New Testament and the life of Jesus Christ by one of literature's more famous atheists.
Girl Meets Boy Girl Meets Boy by Ali Smith: a playful recounting of Ovid's gender-bending myth of Iphis and Ianthe from the vantage point of two Scottish sisters. This is a story of love, humor, and transformation.
Binu and the Great Wall Binu and the Great Wall by Su Tong: a love story set in a mythical village in China where crying is forbidden. Two lovers are separated when one is taken as a slave to build the Great Wall, but the other is determined to get him back.

Article by Norah Piehl

This "beyond the book article" relates to Ragnarok. It originally ran in February 2012 and has been updated for the March 2013 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.