Selected Books by Julian Barnes: Background information when reading Pulse

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Pulse

Stories

by Julian Barnes

Pulse by Julian Barnes X
Pulse by Julian Barnes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2011, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2012, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Elena Spagnolie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Selected Books by Julian Barnes

Print Review

Julian Barnes Julian Barnes can rightfully be called a prolific author, having published nineteen books, more than twenty short stories, and over one-hundred essays and reviews! He has also written four novels under the pseudonym Dan Kavanagh, a mysterious, steer-wrestling, gay-bar-bouncing personality who, "devoted his adolescence to truancy, venery and petty theft... [and who] is currently working in London at jobs he declines to specify". In October 2011, after having been nominated four times, Barnes won the Man Booker Prize for his highly acclaimed novel, The Sense of an Ending. Read on to learn more about a selection of his novels...
Metroland The first book he published under the name Julian Barnes, Metroland (1980), took approximately 8 years to write and draws on the author's personal experiences growing up in the suburbs of London. Written in three parts, it follows the main characters, Christopher and Toni, as they evolve from children into snarky adolescents, and, finally, men who are faced with shocking truths about themselves and their futures. It won the Somerset Maugham Award for a first novel.
Book jacket Flaubert's Parrot Considered to be Barnes's "breakout" novel, Flaubert's Parrot (1984) is about a widowed English doctor's obsession with Gustave Flaubert and his use of Flaubert's writings to make sense of his own life. While on a trip to France, the doctor, Geoffrey Braithwaite, seeks to find the authentic stuffed parrot that once sat on Flaubert's desk and was said to have inspired the great author. It was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1984 and won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize the following year.
A History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters The History of the World in 10 1/2 Chapters (1989) is one of Barnes's most studied and revered novels, incorporating themes of voyage and discovery with a combination of fictional and historical narratives. Barnes questions our many interpretations of history, as well as our collective place in it, and examines how and why people attempt to find answers. The book was lauded as "frequently brilliant, funny, thoughtful, iconoclastic and a delight to read" by author Salman Rushdie (Observer).
Arthur & George Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2005, and winner of the Annual Best Foreign Novels, 21st Century, Arthur & George is the story of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, the famed writer of Sherlock Holmes, and George Edalji, a hardworking and socially awkward Birmingham solicitor (lawyer). They are brought together by a sequence of events, known then as The Great Wyrley Outrages, and Julian Barnes reveals both the events of the case, and the psychology of the age.
For more information about Julian Barnes, please visit his his bio page.

Article by Elena Spagnolie

This article was originally published in August 2011, and has been updated for the February 2012 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.