Religious Snake Handling: Background information when reading Snakewoman of Little Egypt

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Snakewoman of Little Egypt

A Novel

by Robert Hellenga

Snakewoman of Little Egypt by Robert Hellenga X
Snakewoman of Little Egypt by Robert Hellenga
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2010, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2011, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Religious Snake Handling

Print Review

Pentecostalism is a sect of Christianity that originated in rural areas of the USA in the early 1900s. Members believe that baptism in the Holy Spirit results in a personal experience of God, but salvation requires that they practice the teachings of Jesus Christ. They take every word of the Bible as literal truth and act on those words in order to be saved and be assured of entering Heaven.

George Went Hensley began to practice snake handling while a minister of the Church of God in Cleveland, Tennessee (a Pentecostal church which today claims 6 million members in 150 countries). Around 1909, his church became aware of his activities and prohibited it. Eventually, sometime in the 1920s, Hensley started his own church naming it The Church of God with Signs Following. Various other churches also began to follow the practice of snake handling, particularly in rural areas in the Appalachian region.

Snake handling churches are likely to include more mainstream Pentecostal practices as well, such as foot-washing, public repentance of sins, speaking in tongues, as well as healing by prayer and the laying on of hands. Some female members refrain from cutting their hair while the men keep short hair. The women do not use cosmetics and favor ankle-length dresses while the men wear long-sleeved shirts when attending services. The use of tobacco and alcohol is considered sinful. Along with snake handling some worshipers also drink strychnine. These practices derive from a Bible passage:

And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover. - Mark 16:17-18

During a church service a worshiper may feel a call from the Holy Spirit to take up a snake or drink poison, in order to obey the above scripture. Even though some do suffer snakebites, it is a proof of faith to survive the bite. Though over 100 cases of death by snakebite have been reported (including that of the sect's founder, George Went Hensley), church members see these incidents as a sign of a lack of sufficient prayer and faith by the handler or even by the whole congregation. Snakebites are also seen as a punishment for sin or because the handler did not put down the snake when commanded by the Holy Spirit to do so. For these reasons, victims of snakebites do not seek medical attention but instead are prayed over until they heal or die.

In 2001, it was estimated that 40 small churches practiced snake-handling, most of whom would consider themselves part of the holiness movement, in turn part of the pentecostal movement. Originally members of the holiness churches came from mostly rural areas and included coal miners, mill workers, factory laborers and farmers in Appalachia. Today, the churches have spread to urban areas and include followers from various walks of life. Despite opposition, serpent handling continues, with the tradition apparently being passed down in families, generation after generation.

Snake Handlers at Jolo, West Virginia

Article by Judy Krueger

This article was originally published in November 2010, and has been updated for the September 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.