Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Magicians

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Magicians

A Novel

by Lev Grossman

The Magicians by Lev Grossman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2009, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2010, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judy Krueger

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Lev Grossman's Worlds
Lev Grossman was born in 1969, the son of two English professors, and grew up in Lexington, MA, a placid little suburb of Boston. After obtaining a literature degree from Harvard and working towards a PhD in comparative literature at Yale, he gradually turned himself into a journalist and after a few years as a free-lancer, was hired by Time and became the magazine's book critic as well as one of its lead technology writers.

In 1997 Grossman published his first novel, Warp. It concerns the lyrical misadventures of a Boston slacker who has trouble distinguishing between reality and Star Trek.

Codex followed in 2004 and became a bestseller. It is a literary thriller in the tradition of The Name of the Rose, Possession and The Secret History. It's also an unusual love story, as well as a love letter to the mysteries and wonders of the Book, the death of which has been wildly exaggerated.

Lev grew up reading all the fantasy he could find and like other nerds, read and re-read his favorites over and over. For The Magicians, he employed his fantasy background and prodigious imagination to create a entire fantasy series, Fillory and Further. The series has never existed in the real world, is not available in bookstores or libraries, nor is its author Christopher Plover a real person. But the five books in the series and the characters in the books play large roles in The Magicians.

The Fillory and Further series consists of five volumes. Every summer the five Chatwin children enter a magical land called Fillory, which is ruled over by a pair of twin rams, Ember and Umber. In Fillory the Chatwins are treated as kings and queens, and time and again they rescue the creatures who live there from any threats that menace them, including the sinister witch known as the Watcherwoman.

The Five Books of Fillory:
The World in the Walls: Martin and Fiona have to stop the Watcherwoman from stopping time at 5:00 on a rainy September afternoon.
The Girl Who Told Time: Helen and Rupert are magicked into Fillory to help Martin and Fiona battle the Watcherwoman and hunt the mysterious Questing Beast.
The Flying Forest: Rupert and Fiona search for the source of a mysterious ticking sound that is troubling their friend Sir Hotspots, a noble leopard.
The Secret Sea: Set adrift on the Outer Ocean by the Watcherwoman, Rupert and Jane seek help to take them back to Fillory.
The Wandering Dune: Helen and Jane are carried by a sand dune out into the desert, where they discuss morality.

Article by Judy Krueger

This article was originally published in September 2009, and has been updated for the May 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Ghachar Ghochar
    by Vivek Shanbhag
    The Bengaluru (aka Bangalore) that has dominated economic news headlines over the past decade is the...
  • Book Jacket: Caught in the Revolution
    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport
    So taken were BookBrowse's First Impression reviewers by the inside look at the start of the Russian...
  • Book Jacket: Hillbilly Elegy
    Hillbilly Elegy
    by J.D. Vance
    In this illuminating memoir, Vance recounts his trajectory from growing up a "hillbilly" in ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Mercies in Disguise
    by Gina Kolata

    A story of hope, a family's genetic destiny, and the science that rescued them.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Our Short History
    by Lauren Grodstein

    Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's stronger, than before.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

The third-rate mind is only happy when it is thinking with the majority. The second-rate mind is only happy when it...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -