Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Lord of Death

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lord of Death

by Eliot Pattison

The Lord of Death by Eliot Pattison X
The Lord of Death by Eliot Pattison
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2009, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2010, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

A Short History of Tibet
Tibet, a remote region along the southwestern border of China, sits at 15,000 feet above sea level between the Himalaya and Kunlun mountain ranges. The first recorded king of the region was Srong-btsan sgam-po, who is credited with introducing Buddhism to Tibet around 640 AD. He and his descendants ruled over a unified Tibet through the 8th century, but the empire eventually collapsed into a collection of small independent kingdoms.

Map of Tibet Map of Tibet
click for larger image including key

When Genghis Khan's forces marched through much of Asia around the turn of the 13th century, Tibetans managed to retain a good deal of autonomy and acquire some political influence by agreeing to pay tribute to the Mongols. When the Mongol empire collapsed, Tibetans asserted their independence from China, and power within the region became concentrated in the hands of a spiritual leader known as the Dalai Lama.

Centuries later, Tibetan history was again influenced by violence from the north, when Chinese imperial forces intervened in a dispute between Mongol warlords and occupied the capital, Lhasa. The Chinese remained in control of Tibet until 1911, playing a role similar to that of a feudal overload. The current Chinese leadership uses this historical relationship to justify its occupation of Tibet.

Tibetans expelled the Chinese troops from Lhasa in 1911 after a revolutionary uprising within China against the Ching dynasty. They again declared independence in 1913 under the 13th Dalai Lama, Thupten Gyatso (1876–1933). China was too busy with its own civil wars and war with Japan to be able to devote resources to regaining the territory until the People's Republic of China (PRC) invaded Tibet in 1949. A Tibetan delegation was forced to sign the "17-Point Agreement for the Peaceful Liberation of Tibet" on May 23, 1950, which essentially turned Tibet into a Chinese colony. 16-year-old Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th and current Dalai Lama, assumed full powers as Head of State on November 17, 1950. On September 9, 1951, thousands of Chinese troops marched into Lhasa. The PRC began a program of collectivization, closing monasteries and taking their land and wealth.

Led by monks, the Tibetans revolted in 1956, waging guerrilla warfare against their Chinese occupiers for the next three years. The Chinese responded in 1959 by razing entire villages and monasteries and arresting thousands of men, women and children. Almost all autonomy was revoked, Lhasa lay in ruins, and the Dalai Lama was forced to flee.

Tibet's autonomy continues to be a subject of international debate. The Chinese government remains in control, and maintains that they're improving the quality of life for Tibetans. The Tibetans, however, feel their culture and way of life are being systematically destroyed and persist in demanding independence from China.

The Dalai Lama, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989, lives in exile along with at least 100,000 other Tibetans. He continues to work for a non-violent resolution of the conflict between China and Tibet.

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article was originally published in July 2009, and has been updated for the June 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.