Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Little Giant of Aberdeen County

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Little Giant of Aberdeen County

A Novel

by Tiffany Baker

The Little Giant of Aberdeen County by Tiffany Baker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2009, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2010, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Kim Kovacs

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Acromegaly
Truly Plaice, the protagonist of The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, is referred to as a "giant" even as a child. It is not until mid-way through the book that a physician provides the name of the disease that afflicts her: Acromegaly.

Acromegaly comes from the Latin acron, for extremity, and megas, meaning large. It was originally known as "Pierre Marie Disease" after the French neurologist who first correlated the clinical and pathological findings in 1886. The disease is rare, affecting about one in every 20,000 Americans.

The underlying cause is an over-secretion of growth hormone by the pituitary gland. In 90% of acromegaly cases, this is due to a benign tumor on the pituitary gland called a pituitary adenoma.

Symptoms progress very slowly (photographs of an untreated patient over time), making the disease difficult to diagnose. Some of its effects include:

  • Soft tissue swelling resulting in the enlargement of the hands, feet, nose, lips and ears.
  • General thickening of the skin.
  • Pronounced brow protrusion.
  • Lengthening of the jaw and wide separation of the teeth as a result.
  • Hoarse and husky voice.
  • Increased activity of oil-producing glands.
  • Over-abundance of coarse body hair.
  • Enlargement of the vital organs, including the spleen, kidneys, liver and heart.

The disease is most frequently diagnosed in middle-age patients. Very rarely, acromegaly can appear in young children. Referred to as "giantism" or "gigantism," the ailment causes abnormal growth in children who typically grow to over seven feet tall by adulthood.

Acromegaly is not fatal in itself, but it can lead to serious complications if left untreated. The most frequent cause of premature death is congestive heart failure due to an enlarged heart. Diabetes is also relatively common. Other afflictions include spinal compression and pain, osteoarthritis, muscular weakness, neuropathy, and severe eye problems which can lead to permanent blindness.

Richard KielThe standard treatment for acromegaly is the surgical removal of the adenoma, or a partial or total removal of the pituitary gland itself. This procedure is supplemented by the use of growth hormone suppressors such as estrogen, medroxyprogesterone, chlorpromazine & Sandostatin. Without treatment, it is rare for the individual to live past 40.

Famous individuals with acromegaly include:

Photo: Richard Kiel

Article by Kim Kovacs

This article was originally published in January 2009, and has been updated for the January 2010 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.