MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Turnaround

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Turnaround

by George Pelecanos

The Turnaround by George Pelecanos X
The Turnaround by George Pelecanos
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2009, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Diane La Rue
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to The Turnaround

Print Review

The Fisher House Program
War veterans returning from Iraq and Afghanistan are coming back with injuries that would have been fatal a few years ago. Medical advances mean that more young men and women are returning home with serious brain injuries and requiring artificial limbs. These vets need long periods of rehabilitation. To assist them and their families, the Fisher House Program was created. New York real estate magnate Zachary Fisher donated money to build Fisher House 'comfort homes' on the grounds of each of the major military medical centers in the United States which enable families of vets to live close to their family member while he or she undergoes rehabilitation.

Anywhere from eight to twenty-one suites exist in each home which military families can use at no charge. The families share a common kitchen area, dining area and there are living areas with play rooms for young children. Each family has their own bedroom suite with a bathroom.

There are paid staff at each Fisher House, but volunteers play an important role - they cook, clean, assist with childcare and sometimes just provide a sympathetic ear.

Comedian Kathy Griffin is a big supporter of the men and women in the military, and has brought attention to Fisher House by featuring a trip she made to the house at Walter Reed Medical Center on her Bravo TV show, "My Life on the D-List". She took viewers behind the scene, and talked with some of the families, many of them young men and women barely out of high school, with young children of their own. The injured vets whom she talked with reflect the same people Pelecanos writes about in The Turnaround. They personalize their artificial limbs with artwork, and many of them have a wicked sense of humor.

It was a moving experience for Griffin, as well as for the viewer, who was able to see the sacrifice made by these brave young people on behalf of their country.

Interesting Links

Article by Diane La Rue

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Turnaround. It originally ran in September 2008 and has been updated for the April 2009 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.