Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Monsters of Templeton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Monsters of Templeton

A Novel

by Lauren Groff

The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2008, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2008, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

A Scenic Tour of Cooperstown, New York

Though Groff's preface clearly defines her book as a work of fiction, she also admits that it is a love story of sorts for her childhood hometown of Cooperstown, New York. Cooperstown, a village in Otsego County, has several claims to fame, the most prominent of which is the National Baseball Hall of Fame. In 1908, the seven-man Mills Commission chose Cooperstown as the site for the Hall of Fame. The Mills Commission was formed three years prior for the purpose of determining where and under what circumstances America's favorite game was invented. Cooperstown was chosen to host the Hall of Fame mostly because of its connection to Abner Doubleday. Doubleday's friend, Abner Graves's, testimony convinced the Mills Commission that the modern game of baseball began on the playing fields of Cooperstown. Primary source documents from the Commission hearings were discovered in 1999 which confirmed the suspicions of many historians and researchers that the game's beginnings were not connected to Doubleday. Despite this inaccuracy, Cooperstown remains a town very much associated with baseball. In the novel, Groff includes the Mills Commission's choice of Cooperstown to host the Hall of Fame as an important part of the fictional Templeton's character and survival.

William Cooper is recognized as the founder of Cooperstown. His son, author James Fenimore Cooper, published over 30 novels and is often recognized as America's first popular novelist (his daughter, Susan Fenimore Cooper, was also a writer).  The Fenimore Art Museum is located beside the New York State Historical Association and the Farmer's Museum in Cooperstown.

The novel is sprinkled with vintage photographs, which will likely make many readers wonder where those pictures came from and who the subjects really are. Happily, Groff addresses this question on the web site promoting the book. The photographs are a mixture of Groff's own family and friends as well as images of strangers that she has collected over the years. Groff also created a slide show of Cooperstown that can be viewed via the "Monsters' Extras" section of this page.

Article by Stacey Brownlie

This article was originally published in April 2008, and has been updated for the November 2008 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.