Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The End of the Line

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The End of the Line

How Overfishing Is Changing the World and What We Eat

by Charles Clover

The End of the Line
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2006, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2008, 396 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Did you know:

  • Today, the British know the North Sea as muddy and cold. It's always been cold, but evidence suggests that it wasn't always muddy. Just 100 years ago there were vast oyster beds up to 120 miles long in many areas of this shallow sea, but they were all fished out before WWII. Over-fishing removed the oysters and the hard substrate of shells that formed the sea base leaving a muddy base - thus both increasing the sediment and removing the useful bivalves that stabilized the sediment by consuming it as food.
  • Using beam trawling, it takes 16 lbs of dead marine animals to produce 1 lb of sole out of the North ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and backstories are a members-only benefit. Full information is available on books for a limited time when they are featured as "Editor's Choices" - but that time has now elapsed for this book.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.