Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Unbowed

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Unbowed

A Memoir

by Wangari Maathai

Unbowed by Wangari Maathai X
Unbowed by Wangari Maathai
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2006, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2007, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Unbowed

Print Review

A Short History of Kenya
Kenya is located on the East Coast of Africa, bordered by the Indian Ocean, Tanzania, Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia and Somalia (map). The Portuguese explorer Vasco da Gama was the first European on record to visit the area in 1498. Portuguese rule officially began in 1505, bringing the Portuguese a useful revenue source from tribute payments, but also strategic control of the Indian Ocean allowing them to extract high tariffs on items transported by sea.

By the 17th century, Portuguese influence in the area was on the wane due to British, Dutch and Arab incursions. Omani Arabs colonized the coastal areas in the 19th century, even moving their capital to Zanzibar (an island off the coast of Tanzania) in 1839. Their control of the East African coast continued until British interests took over. By the late 19th century the slave trade on the open seas had been completely outlawed by the British and the Omani's had little ability to resist the British navy's enforcement of the directive.

In 1885 a German protectorate was established over the Sultan of Zanzibar's coastal possessions. In 1890 Germany handed over its holdings to the Imperial British East Africa Company. During the early 20th century the interior areas of Kenya were European farmers, mainly from Britain, who grew coffee and tea.

By the 1930s there were about 30,000 settlers living in an area formerly occupied by the Kikuyu tribe*, who had no claims to land under European law and were reduced to squatting; beset by punitive taxes and laws intended to protect the settlers many moved to the cities.

In 1952 Mau Mau freedom fighters rebelled against British rule, the rebellion was crushed in 1956 but the country stayed in a state of emergency until 1959. In 1957 the first Africans were elected to Kenya's Legislative Council. When Kenya gained independence in 1963 it was under the leadership of Jomo Kenyatta (a Kikuyu and long time politician who, in 1924, had joined the Kikuyu Central Association which advocated to the British on Kikuyu affairs. Kenyatta had also spent time at various universities in Britain including the London School of Economics, and had studied briefly in Moscow).

Kenyatta died in 1978 and Daniel arap Moi became President, running the country as a de facto dictatorship for much of the next 24 years. In 2002 Moi was constitutionally barred from running again, and the multi-ethnic National Rainbow Coalition won election.

The lucrative tourist industry has bounced back following the slump that followed bomb attacks in Nairobi in 1998 and Mombasa in 2002; and in 2006 tourism was the country's best hard currency earner, ahead of horticulture and tea.

Key facts about Kenya (from the CIA Factbook)

  • Population: 35 million. Growing at about 2.5%/year.
  • Infant mortality: 59/1,000
  • AIDS: 6.7% (2003)
  • Life Expectancy: 49 years
  • Ethnicity: Kikuyu 22%, Luhya 14%, Luo 13%, Kalenjin 12%, Kamba 11%, etc.
  • Languages: Numerous; official languages: English, Kiswahili (Swahili)
  • Literacy: 85% (as defined by those aged 15+ who can read and write)
  • Unemployment: 40% (2001); Below the poverty line: 50% (2000) - but maybe a little better now due to the change of government in 2003.
  • GDP per capita: $1,100 (2005). GDP grew 5% in 2005.
  • Public Debt: 50% of GDP

*The Kikuyu?, more accurately pronounced Gikuyu are the largest ethnic group in Kenya accounting for about 7 million (22%) of the population. Arguably they suffered most under British rule and were the most active group fighting for independence. Kenya's first and third presidents have both been Gikuyu; other famous Gikuyu include Wangari Maathai and the author Ngugi wa Thiong'o.

This "beyond the book article" relates to Unbowed. It originally ran in November 2006 and has been updated for the September 2007 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.