Why do we say "If a job's worth doing, it's worth doing well"?

Well-Known Expressions

If a job's worth doing, it's worth doing well

Meaning:

Only make a commitment if you're prepared to do it wholeheartedly

Background:

The first recorded use of this expression is in a letter from Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield to his son in 1746. It is just one of about 400 letters the prolific British statesman wrote to his son over a 30-year period. The son in question was Philip Stanhope's illigitimate son, also named Philip Stanhope. The younger Philip, whose mother was a French governess, died in 1768 leaving his widow, Eugenia, destitute. The letters were published in 1774 and appear to have been a big success, providing a handbook for worldly success for young men of the late 18th century and, we must hope, some income for Eugenia.

BATH, October 9, O. S. 1746

If care and application are necessary to the acquiring of those qualifications, without which you can never be considerable, nor make a figure in the world, they are not less necessary with regard to the lesser accomplishments, which are requisite to make you agreeable and pleasing in society. In truth, whatever is worth doing at all, is worth doing well; and nothing can be done well without attention: I therefore carry the necessity of attention down to the lowest things, even to dancing and dress. Custom has made dancing sometimes necessary for a young man; therefore mind it while you learn it that you may learn to do it well, and not be ridiculous, though in a ridiculous act. Dress is of the same nature; you must dress; therefore attend to it; not in order to rival or to excel a fop in it, but in order to avoid singularity, and consequently ridicule. Take great care always to be dressed like the reasonable people of your own age, in the place where you are; whose dress is never spoken of one way or another, as either too negligent or too much studied.

You maybe wondering about "O. S." in the date. This is short for "old style." Back in 1582, Pope Gregory XIII promulgated a new calendar, known as the Gregorian calendar. The "old style" calendar is the Julian calendar introduced by Julius Caesar around 50 A.D., which was pretty accurate, all things considered, but over the period of 400 years gained about 3 days. Not a lot in the grand scheme you might think but by the time Pope Gregory introduced his calendar the year had slipped by 11 day difference - so October 9 in Bath, England would have been September 28 in most parts of mainland Europe, which had moved to the Gregorian calendar.

It took a long time for the Gregorian calendar to catch on in all places that had used the Julian calendar. Russia and Greece were among the last to convert in 1918 and 1923 respectively.

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.