Excerpt from A Deadly Exchange by Sheryl Jane Stafford, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Deadly Exchange

by Sheryl Jane Stafford

A Deadly Exchange
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jan 2001, 364 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Oh, God, he thought as he raced toward the shore. That sounds like gunfire!

Matt's feet could not propel him fast enough. He felt like a man moving underwater as he untied the dinghy and shoved it into the rough sea. Because his legs trembled so badly, he thought for a moment that he wouldn't be able to lift them over the side and into the inflatable. His body responded to danger as it had in Hanoi when the Viet Cong half carried, half dragged him to the infamous torture chamber, otherwise known as the Green Knobby Room. Panic bubbled up his throat and threatened to choke him. He sobbed. As the dinghy plunged through the ragged chop, he clutched the twelve-gauge. I'm a good shot, he reassured himself, and with this, I can hit what I need to. He thought he heard the dull throb of an engine somewhere near the channel entrance. The Amani gradually took shape in the gloom. It wandered at its mooring, and this movement, coupled with his weak legs, made it difficult for him to board. Mustering all his strength, he hoisted himself over the stern rail and called out.

"Alex!" He heard waves slapping the hull and the wind tugging at the sail cover. He waited with his twelve-gauge pointed at the companionway. Because his hands had begun to quake, he gripped the gun like a vise. Overwhelmed by his concern for Alex, he leaped into the cabin and groped for a light. The air below still felt warm. Matt saw that Alex wasn't there. No one was on the boat. He quickly examined the companionway hatch and found a hole the size of a fist had been blown through it. This opening had enabled someone to reach in, remove the flag pole and hatch boards, and enter. And I told her she'd be safe. Oh, God. He felt something sticky beneath his feet and kneeled down to see what it was. It appeared that something had spilled on the floor. He fumbled for his flashlight and aimed its beam on the teak boards. To his horror, he saw blood, fresh bright blood. Lots of it.

"Alex," he whispered. "Alex." He stood up, turned off the cabin light, and crept up the steps. Crouched in the cockpit, he peeked over the stern rail and looked toward the cabin cruiser. He stared until he was dizzy. It was so dark and windy his eyes kept watering. He wiped them, blinked. There was no way around it. The Happy Hour was gone. And Alex was gone.

Matt stood up, looked to the heavens, and emitted a raging cry that was swallowed up by the wind, the waves, and the impassive night sky.

Copyright Sheryl Jane Stafford, 2001. All rights reserved. Reproduced by permission of Sheryl Jane Stafford.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.