Excerpt from A Deadly Exchange by Sheryl Jane Stafford, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Deadly Exchange

by Sheryl Jane Stafford

A Deadly Exchange by Sheryl Jane Stafford X
A Deadly Exchange by Sheryl Jane Stafford
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jan 2001, 364 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Oh, God, he thought as he raced toward the shore. That sounds like gunfire!

Matt's feet could not propel him fast enough. He felt like a man moving underwater as he untied the dinghy and shoved it into the rough sea. Because his legs trembled so badly, he thought for a moment that he wouldn't be able to lift them over the side and into the inflatable. His body responded to danger as it had in Hanoi when the Viet Cong half carried, half dragged him to the infamous torture chamber, otherwise known as the Green Knobby Room. Panic bubbled up his throat and threatened to choke him. He sobbed. As the dinghy plunged through the ragged chop, he clutched the twelve-gauge. I'm a good shot, he reassured himself, and with this, I can hit what I need to. He thought he heard the dull throb of an engine somewhere near the channel entrance. The Amani gradually took shape in the gloom. It wandered at its mooring, and this movement, coupled with his weak legs, made it difficult for him to board. Mustering all his strength, he hoisted himself over the stern rail and called out.

"Alex!" He heard waves slapping the hull and the wind tugging at the sail cover. He waited with his twelve-gauge pointed at the companionway. Because his hands had begun to quake, he gripped the gun like a vise. Overwhelmed by his concern for Alex, he leaped into the cabin and groped for a light. The air below still felt warm. Matt saw that Alex wasn't there. No one was on the boat. He quickly examined the companionway hatch and found a hole the size of a fist had been blown through it. This opening had enabled someone to reach in, remove the flag pole and hatch boards, and enter. And I told her she'd be safe. Oh, God. He felt something sticky beneath his feet and kneeled down to see what it was. It appeared that something had spilled on the floor. He fumbled for his flashlight and aimed its beam on the teak boards. To his horror, he saw blood, fresh bright blood. Lots of it.

"Alex," he whispered. "Alex." He stood up, turned off the cabin light, and crept up the steps. Crouched in the cockpit, he peeked over the stern rail and looked toward the cabin cruiser. He stared until he was dizzy. It was so dark and windy his eyes kept watering. He wiped them, blinked. There was no way around it. The Happy Hour was gone. And Alex was gone.

Matt stood up, looked to the heavens, and emitted a raging cry that was swallowed up by the wind, the waves, and the impassive night sky.

Copyright Sheryl Jane Stafford, 2001. All rights reserved. Reproduced by permission of Sheryl Jane Stafford.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.