Excerpt from Daddy's Girls by Suzanne Gold, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Daddy's Girls

by Suzanne Gold

Daddy's Girls
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2000, 575 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2000, 575 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


It seems like days pass before he hands the bag back. Why are all these people so slow?

"In there." He nods toward the entrance to the visitors' lounge.

Inside, people are gathered in scattered clusters, a patient with family or friends.

Allison and Cherie are playing cards at a table by the window. Junk spreads out around them, most of it looking like the same kinds of things as I brought. Damn it. I wish I'd known what Allison was bringing so my stuff wouldn't pale in comparison.

I force cheerfulness into my voice. "Hi, girls."

"Mommy, Mommy. Mommy's here," Cherie chants.

Allison stands to greet me. She looks comfortably elegant in faded jeans, boots and a cable-knit sweater. Her hair is shorter, curling gently around her face. Cherie's still sitting, grinning at me. I can tell another tooth is gone. She's fatter than ever, and sloppy, in shabby mismatched clothes.

I accept Allison's hug, then lean to press my cheek on Cherie's head.

She shrinks away, like she can tell what I've been thinking.

"Contamination!" she shrieks. "The Lord Jesus Christ our Savior will condemn you for Eternity for defiling his Chosen One!"

I sit heavily. "Cherie, honey, be nice. We haven't all been together in years. Let's try to have a good time."

"Don't take it personally, Mom," Allison says quietly, as if I had a choice. This is my child we're talking about, flesh of my flesh. Tainted.

"It is her fault," Cherie roars. "God knows. She has never treated His Servant with proper respect. For that, she'll burn in Hell!"

"What else can I do?" I ask. "I've been trying to help you."

"Repent, sinner. Let the Evil be cast out from your blackened soul."

"What's in the bag, Mom?" Allison interrupts in a bright tone. "Offerings for the chosen one?"

"Cigarettes?" Cherie wants to know. "Red licorice and M&M's?"

"All your favorite stuff." I clear a space to empty the contents onto the table, glad to be in familiar territory.

"Oooh, lipstick, eye shadow, Marlboros, nail polish, Oreos! Jesus'll cut you some slack for that."

Why does she have to do this Jesus routine? She's Jewish, for God's sake. Is she crazy because I sent them to Vacation Bible school at the Presbyterian church around the corner when they were little? Was it too much to ask to have a few minutes to myself once a day for two weeks?

Cherie swivels the lipstick out of the tube and touches up her already scarlet lips, scraping unnoticed bits onto her front teeth.

I pull a mirror and tissue from my pocketbook. "Here, let me help you clean that up."

"Be gone, heathen! Away!" She jumps up, knocking over her chair.

Allison studies her, then turns to me. "Sometimes I think she's speaking metaphorically."

Cherie stops mid-tantrum, looks interested.

"You know, like poetry," Allison says. "You say you want to help but she doesn't appreciate you. Maybe, through the filter of her delusions about sin and evil, she's saying she doesn't want what you're trying to give."

"You're talking as though your sister isn't in the same room. Is this some new psychological theory?"

"Just an experiment. What do you think, Cherie?"

Cherie giggles maniacally. "I think, um..." She makes a deep buzzing sound.

"I guess she doesn't want to talk about it," Allison says. "But you could try not nagging her for a while and see if she relates to you any better."

I refuse to answer the little snot. Thinks she's so smart because she has degrees in psychology and I had to drop out of college after one year.

Copyright Suzanne Gold, 2001. All rights reserved.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.