Summary and book reviews of Daddy's Girls by Suzanne Gold

Daddy's Girls

by Suzanne Gold

Daddy's Girls by Suzanne Gold X
Daddy's Girls by Suzanne Gold
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2000, 575 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2000, 575 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A rich yet simple tale of love, madness and spirit, told by the three women in a family on the verge of mental illness.

Daddy's Girls is a rich yet simple tale of love, madness and spirit, told by the three women in a family on the verge of mental illness. Overlapping vignettes reveal the dark forces beneath their middle-class veneer as they struggle to love one another. From her dual perspective as a psychologist and sister of a schizophrenic, Suzanne Gold portrays insanity as a metaphor for spiritual purpose.

Allison
thirty-one years old

THE LAST TIME I saw Cherie she was still beautiful.

I used to envy her perfect nose, her perfect teeth. Even her artificially-straight artificially-blonde hair flattered her. I dread seeing her now.

Mom says Cherie's mental state deteriorated fast after her boyfriend/cocaine connection dumped her, and soon she was seeing black helicopters following her, international conspiracies spying on her. When she ran out of money and tried to get the boyfriend to take her back -- yelling on his doorstep, threatening, and frightening the neighbors -- he called the police. They threw her into Egg Harbor State Hospital, where she's been for over a year, court-committed, with reviews every six months.

Lost in memory, I stare out the airplane window, barely registering the dull roar of the engines or the attendants rolling carts down the aisle. Thirty thousand feet down, barren waves of earth undulate. Probably mountains, but from up here ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

ForeWord Magazine
ForeWord Magazine's Book of the Year Awards 2001 Gold Medal for Fiction. "Daddy's Girls," a bittersweet novel of love, redemption and spirit in a dysfunctional family won a Gold Medal for Fiction.

BookReviewCafe.com
A fascinating story, one I won't soon forget. I was captivated. In my opinion, a must read!

Midwest Book Review - Terry Mathews
I received the galleys of this book from the author -- I'm right in the middle of a remodeling project at my house so I really didn't have much time, but I thought I'd just read a few pages before turning out the light. WRONG! I wound up reading until 4:00AM and was back up at 8:00 to finish this marvelous book.
The story centers around Allison and Cherie, the unfortunate offspring of a marriage between Ruth and Warren, two very unhappy people. Allison is mild, meek and feels inadequate. Her younger sister Cherie is wild from the moment of birth and never looks back.
The dysfunctionality (if there is such a word) of this family is difficult to watch, but the author's style pulls you into the story and you cannot put the book down until there is some kind of resolution.
This is not light reading, but it is a book that will speak to you on many levels, a book that can alter your perception of the world -- and to me, that's what good fiction should do -- it should broaden your horizons and urge you to think outside the box. I am serious when I say it is the best one I've read since Cunningham's The Hours. This book is worth your time!

Nelson (BC) Daily News - Anne DeGrace
Writing from personal experience can be cathartic. Writing from the heart with a depth of understanding, placed in dramatic context with the prowess of a good storyteller, can also be good fiction. Daddy's Girls is a tragic story of loss, frustration, blame and anguish, it's also a heartening tale of love an its resurrection against all odds. Gold suggests possibilities beyond an accepted norm, and lends a new dimension to an old story.

Ruth Williams, author of Younger Than That Now
Daddy's Girls is a luxuriant narrative, telling the stories of three complex women -- two sisters and their mother. Their lives are impacted by the mental illness of one, a fascinating and obviously well-informed look at heartbreaking realities. This is a book written from the heart.

Reader Reviews

bonnierose333

Daddy's girl is an excellent read. Many people world-wide are oppressed because of past experiences.

jessica

this book was one of the most interesting book, that i have ever read. i, a matter of fact liked this book so much, i decided to do a three page book report. I turned i in and got a (At).

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Daddy's Girls, try these:

  • A Fractured Mind jacket

    A Fractured Mind

    by Robert B. Oxnam

    Published 2006

    About this book

    The harrowing, insightful, and courageous account of a prominent man's struggle with multiple personalities.

  • The Memory of Running jacket

    The Memory of Running

    by Ron McLarty

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More books by this author

    A story of families and friendships, of mental illness and addiction, of growing up and growing older, of first loves and second chances and of one man's journey across America toward personal redemption.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.