MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Excerpt from Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree

by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani

Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani X
Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2018, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2020, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Lewis
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt


Thank God.

Like Papa, I believe that President Jonathan has chosen new officers who are better prepared and qualified to defeat Boko Haram.

It should now be only a matter of time before the terrorists disappear.

BAD NEWS

Papa never allows anyone from his family to queue up with the rest of the village when the doctors and nurses from Maiduguri arrive with syringes and stethoscopes in their white van.

"They always bring bad news," he says.

He insists that his mother was healthy until the free health check people appeared, perfectly fine until she received her test results.

Next thing, she was groaning on a mat in the backyard. Then she was traveling to and from the teaching hospital in Maiduguri. Finally, Papa sold our TV set, and still had no money left to pay our fees for an entire year.

Meanwhile, the free health check doctors and nurses had disappeared with their white van. After delivering their bad news, they did not hang around to watch Papa's mother shrivel up in the backyard and die.

"I am not happy about this medical test," Papa says. "I don't want my daughter to do it."

"It is a requirement for every child who gets the scholarship," Principal says. "You need to do it quickly if you're serious about her resuming at the special school next term. The government needs to see the results of her medical tests before they can issue her admission."

WORRY

Measles

Kwashiorkor

Meningitis

Tetanus

Whooping Cough

Tuberculosis

Diarrhea

Polio

HIV/AIDS



From dusk to dawn, my mind runs through the list of diseases I have learned about in science class and from the gory posters on the walls of the general hospital in nearby Gwoza.

Which one of them might keep me from attending the special school?

What might the doctors and nurses find hiding in my body?

Dysentery, malaria, chicken pox—the three major sicknesses I have suffered since birth. Polio passed through our village once and left ten families with cripples, but it did not knock on Papa's door.

I pray that we are as lucky this time. I hope that Papa is wrong about medical tests.

For nothing must come between me and my Borno State government scholarship.

PREGNANCY

The nurse at the Gwoza General Hospital says that my pregnancy test result will be sent directly to my new school. Thus ends my jittering.

The scholarship board is on the lookout for hidden embryos, not viruses or microbes. I am one hundred percent certain that everything will come out fine.

DANGEROUS COWS

The man in the seat in front of me is nodding off. Papa sits beside me listening to his radio. I stare out the window of the bus, just in case something interesting happens on the journey from Gwoza to Damboa, where we board a smaller vehicle that will take us to our village.

Eventually, my diligence pays off, and cows surround our vehicle.

The bus driver weaves the vehicle past the huge horns and robust rumps while the bulky creatures make their way from one side of the road to the other. I marvel at how far Fulani herdsmen are prepared to traverse while grazing their cattle.

When they're in search of greener pastures, Papa says they sometimes roam as far as the southeast of Nigeria, where the Igbo people live, and even to the southwest, where the Yoruba people live.

If only I could sit atop one of the bulls and ride along. What an adventure that would be!

The man in the seat in front of me raises his head and rubs his eyes. He looks lazily out the window. Suddenly, he screams.

"Never drive close to the cows! Never drive close to the cows! The spirit of Boko Haram can enter the cows, so you should always wait for the cows to cross the road!"

Excerpted from the book Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani. Copyright © 2018 by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani. Reprinted with permission of Katherine Tegen Books / HarperCollins Children's Books.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Baobab: The Tree of Life

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Kindness of Strangers
    The Kindness of Strangers
    by Michael E. McCullough
    "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you." Everyone, at some point in their life, has ...
  • Book Jacket: Hamnet
    Hamnet
    by Maggie O'Farrell
    William Shakespeare's name is never used in Hamnet — a conspicuous absence around which Maggie...
  • Book Jacket: After the Last Border
    After the Last Border
    by Jessica Goudeau
    According to the United Nations Refugee Agency, the number of displaced people around the world is ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Alex Landragin
    Crossings is a beautiful, if slightly messy, time-bending debut. It reads like a vampire novel, sans...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Hieroglyphics
    by Jill McCorkle

    A mesmerizing novel about piecing together the hieroglyphics of history and memory.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

The the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose fight is boundless.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Every Bone a Prayer

Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

A beautifully honest exploration of healing and of hope.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Real M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.