MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Excerpt from The Parking Lot Attendant by Nafkote Tamirat, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Parking Lot Attendant

A Novel

by Nafkote Tamirat

The Parking Lot Attendant by Nafkote Tamirat X
The Parking Lot Attendant by Nafkote Tamirat
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2018, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2019, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Butts
Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

"Who is Napoleon III? Careful, that might be a trick question."

"What is more important, the body or the soul?"

"What is virtue?"

"Do you have a boyfriend?"

Laughter for the first time, in an interrogation I found I was enjoying.

"What's your name?" I asked.

They laughed even harder before the man by the booth silenced them with a look.

"Ayale."

"He's famous."

"Everyone knows him."

"I don't."

Ayale smiled.

"Admission of ignorance is the first step to gaining real knowledge."

"I have to go now."

"Come back soon, anytime during normal business hours. Tell your father that he's welcome, too: anyone who creates a genuine scholar in this day and age is a friend of mine."

"Thank you."

I escaped, almost running to Government Center, where I took the next train home. I tried to do my homework as if nothing had happened, only to strike out when my fidgeting knocked my father's toolbox onto the floor, where he was carrying out his weekly polishing. He looked at me, aghast. I braced myself for rebuke, but he merely began retrieving the casualties. I made as if to help, but he shook his head.

"Do you know someone named Kassahun Beyene?"

My surprise when he nodded made him laugh.

"How? No, but really: how?"

He kept chuckling as he examined a gleaming monkey wrench.

"Well, if it's the one I know, his father worked for the same cab company that I did."

I told him what I'd heard. When I'd finished, his face looked as if someone had scooped out everything inside, leaving only a flexible shell.

"His father must be devastated," he whispered. "To lose a child … unthinkable."

"I'm sorry."

"How did you find out?"

I explained.

"Are you sure it was really Ayale?"

"I mean, I've never met or heard of him before, but everyone else seemed convinced."

The hollows under his eyes and below his cheekbones seemed more pinched than usual as he got up and began heating water on the stove, tools forgotten.

"Are you hungry yet?"

"Wait … that's it?"

"What do you mean?"

"What are you going to do about Kassahun?"

"What do you expect me to do?"

He seemed furious, and though circumstances would soon prove that I was anything but the most observant, even I could tell that his anger was meant for someone else.

"When are you going to see Ayale?"

"Why would I go see him?" he shot back.

He was just snapping for snaps' sake now.

"He invited you!"

He gave me a small smile and nothing else.

"How about tomorrow? Can we go see him tomorrow?"

"Tomorrow's Saturday."

"So?"

"He only works on weekdays."

"How do you know?"

"Ayale is a famous man."

"Famous for what?"

"For being where he shouldn't be and disappearing from where he should."

He refused to say anything more, busying himself with a box of ziti, pretending he couldn't hear any additional questions. I finally left it; I didn't want to pester him to the point where he'd decide I was to never see Ayale again, not as long as I was living under his roof. Furthermore, if such a decree were to be issued, I knew I'd have to disobey.

The weekend passed uneventfully, and on Monday, I found myself taking more copious notes than ever before, listening to everything my teachers said, searching for tidbits of information to pass along to Ayale as a sign of how each day brought me closer to wisdom. It didn't bother me that I sat with the unpopular Asian girls at lunch—all rejects from all races were relegated to their table—and I was unimpressed by the newest tattoo acquired by the boy who yearned to be Goth enough to sit at the Goth table. I was above all this. A scholar had to be, in order to better observe the masses, ponder self-created theories, scoff at the notion that life followed the maxims of our school's Statement of Vision: Good Citizenship, Kindness, Honesty, Character, Art, Sports, Teamwork, Success!

Excerpted from The Parking Lot Attendant by Nafkote Tamirat. Copyright © 2018 by Nafkote Tamirat. Excerpted by permission of Henry Holt and Company. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.