Excerpt from We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

We Are Not Ourselves

by Matthew Thomas

We Are Not Ourselves
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2014, 640 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2015, 640 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte

Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

7

She began to look forward to the day when she would take another man's name. It was the thoroughgoing Irishness of Tumulty that bothered her, the redolence of peat bogs and sloppy rebel songs and an uproar in the blood, of a defeat that ran so deep it reemerged as a treacherous conviviality.

She'd grown up around so many Irish people that she'd never had to think much about the fact that she was Irish. On St. Patrick's Day, when the city buzzed like a family reunion, she felt a tribal pride, and whenever she heard the plaintive whine of bagpipes, she was summoned to an ancient loyalty.

When she got to college, though, and saw that there was a world in which her father didn't hold much currency, she began to grasp the crucial role the opinions of others played in the settling of one's own prospects. "Eileen" she couldn't get rid of, but if she could join it to something altogether different, she might be able to enjoy her Irishness again, even feel safe enough to take a defensive pride in it, the way she did now only on those rare occasions when her soul was stirred to its origins, like the day just before her nineteenth birthday when President Kennedy was elected and she wept for joy.

She wanted a name that sounded like no name at all, one of those decorous placeholders that suggested an unbroken line of WASP restraint. If the name came with a pedigree to match it, she wasn't going to complain.



It was mid-December 1965. She was in a master's program in nursing administration at NYU after getting college done in three years, as she'd planned. Between classes, she met her friend Ruth, who worked nearby, under the arch in Washington Square, to head to lunch together. It was an unusually mild day for December; some young men had on only a sweater and no jacket.

"Well, it's not that he needs a date, necessarily," Ruth was saying as they walked toward the luncheonette on Broadway. "He just doesn't have one."

Eileen sighed; it was happening again. Everyone always believed they'd found her man for her, but more often than not he was a blarneying, blustering playboy who'd charmed her friends and the rest of the bar and whom she couldn't ditch fast enough.

"I'm sure one will turn up," she said. "Tell him good things come to those who wait."

The men that stirred her—reliable ones, predictable ones—were boring by other girls' standards. She didn't meet enough of these men. Maybe they couldn't get past the guys who crowded around her at bars. If they couldn't at least get to her, though, they weren't for her. She'd rather be alone than end up with a man who was afraid.

"You are impossible!" Ruth said. "I am trying to look out for you here. No—you know what? Fine. That's just fine." Ruth fastened the buttons on her coat.

She could feel Ruth burning. In front of the luncheonette, Ruth stopped her. "Here's the thing," she said. "Frank asked me to do this favor, and we just started, so I want to come through for him. I don't care what you do on New Year's. You want to miss the fun, that's fine by me. You want to be alone the rest of your life, that's fine too. I've tried. I even set you up with Tommy Delaney, and look what you did with that."

"You think you're safe with a West Point man," Eileen said, as though to herself. "You think he'll have a bit of class." She watched a cab stop at the corner and a man with a newspaper tucked under his arm pay his fare.

"Tommy's a fine man," Ruth said.

"Oh, I'm sure he's swell," Eileen said. "I have no way of knowing. He couldn't sit still long enough to say two words to me. He spent the whole time making sure every back in the place got slapped."

"Tommy has a lot of friends."

"He bought everyone a round and said I didn't know it yet, but he was my future husband. There was a big cheer. The nerve!"

Excerpted from We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas. Copyright © 2014 by Matthew Thomas. Excerpted by permission of Simon & Schuster. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  White Flight

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.